February 27, 2014

Local state delegation to run for re-election

State Sen. Charlie Bethel, R-Dalton, and state Reps. Bruce Broadrick, R-Dalton, and Tom Dickson, R-Cohutta, announce they will each seek re-election to the Georgia General Assembly.

Bethel, who was first elected in 2010, is seeking a third term in the Senate. He serves as the governor’s floor leader, vice chairman of the Reapportionment and Redistricting Committee, and secretary of the Government Oversight and Judiciary committees. He is a member of the Insurance and Labor and Judiciary Non-Civil committees.

Bethel was elected in November 2005 to a seat on the Dalton City Council and was re-elected in November 2009. He is director of strategic and legal affairs for J+J Flooring Group Inc. in Dalton.

The Bethel family attends First Baptist Church of Dalton where Bethel serves as a deacon and a trustee for the First Foundation. Bethel is a member of the Dalton Rotary Club and volunteers as a youth athletic coach for the Dalton Parks and Recreation Department. He volunteers with the Fellowship of Christian Athletes and is a current board member.

Bethel has served as the chair of the professional division of the annual campaign of the United Way of Northwest Georgia and has served on the campaign cabinet focused on young leadership development, co-founding the Young Leaders Society. In 2008, he was selected as a member of Dalton Magazine’s inaugural 20 under 40 class and Georgia Trend named him to its 40 under 40 list for the state.

Broadrick was elected to the House of Representatives in 2012, and will be seeking his second term in House District 4. Broadrick serves on the Health and Human Services, Industry and Labor, and Intragovernmental Coordination committees.

Broadrick is a pharmacist who has served his community for more than 38 years. He, with his father before him, operated a successful, independent pharmacy. He is a graduate of Middle Georgia College and the University of Georgia College of Pharmacy. Broadrick is a former president of the Georgia Pharmacy Association. He completed the UGA Carl Vinson Institute Legislative Leadership Program and the Georgia State University Health Policy Training Program, and was recognized as the 2013 Distinguished Alumnus for the UGA College of Pharmacy. He has served as chairman of the Whitfield County Board of Health and is a board member of the Northwest Georgia Healthcare Partnership. He has served on state-level committees with the Department of Community Health and the State Board of Workers’ Compensation. He and his wife Mary Ann Mauldin Broadrick have three children and four grandchildren. They are lifelong residents of Whitfield County and attend First United Methodist Church of Dalton.

Dickson is seeking his sixth term in the House, having first been elected in House District 6 in 2004. Dickson serves as the chairman of the Appropriations Subcommittee of Education as well as the secretary of the Regulated Industries Committee. He also serves as a member of the Economic Development and Tourism, Education, and Legislative and Congressional Reapportionment committees.

Dickson was first employed by the Whitfield County school system in 1967 as a teacher at Pleasant Grove Elementary School. He has served in numerous capacities in the school system, including as bus driver and summer maintenance worker. He has served as both a middle school assistant principal and as a principal of an elementary school. At the central office, he worked as director of technology, transportation and finance, then was appointed as assistant superintendent. He served as superintendent from 1998 until his retirement in June 2003.

Dickson serves on the board of directors of the Georgia United Credit Union. He has served on numerous other boards including for Junior Achievement, Northwest Georgia Healthcare Partnership, United Way of Northwest Georgia, Georgia School Superintendents Association and the Whitfield County Board of Health. He is an active member of Pleasant Grove United Methodist Church where he serves on the finance committee and as chairman of the church council.


Text Only