May 20, 2014

Voters head to the polls

Today is the day that candidates have been working towards for several months. Today, most will learn whether they will hold an elected office next year or return to their regular jobs.

Voters across Georgia, including in Whitfield and Murray counties, go to the polls today. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., but those in line at 7 p.m. will be allowed to vote after 7.

Voters will select the major party nominees for a U.S. Senate seat as well as all statewide offices from governor on down. The Republican Party governor’s race holds special interest locally as former Dalton mayor David Pennington is challenging incumbent Nathan Deal, as is state school Superintendent John Barge.

Whitfield County voters will select major party nominees for the school board as well as the Board of Commissioners. Murray County voters will select major party nominees for school board as well as elect a chief magistrate judge in a nonpartisan race.  And voters in both counties will select someone to fill a seat on the Conasauga Superior Court in a nonpartisan election.

For races that go to a runoff, the runoff will be July 22.

Voters must show an accepted form of a valid photo ID. These include a Georgia driver’s license, even if expired; any valid state or federal government-issued photo ID, including a free voter ID card issued by a county registrar’s office or the Department of Driver Services; a valid passport; a valid employee photo ID from any branch, department, agency or entity of the U.S. government, the state of Georgia or any county, municipality, board, authority or other state entity; a valid U.S. military photo ID; or a valid tribal photo ID.

Text Only