August 10, 2013

DLT hands out Billys

DALTON — The Dalton Little Theatre held its annual banquet and awards ceremony recently at the theater.

The “Billy” awards, named for Bill Davies, were presented in several categories honoring the best of the 2012/2013 season. Nominations were made by the directors of each production and were voted on by the members of the Dalton Little Theatre. In addition, scholarships were awarded to three 2013 high school graduates.

The Billy award winners include “Cabin Fever,” directed by Ron King, and “The Great American Trailer Park Musical,” directed by Jerry Draper, tied for Best Show; Ron King for Best Director for “Cabin Fever”; Amber Sane as Best Actress in “Cabin Fever”; Jim Kirk as Best Actor in “Cabin Fever”; Tanner Blackton for Best Supporting Actress in “The Great American Trailer Park Musical”; Ron Tucker for Best Supporting Actor in “Cabin Fever”; Colby Jones as Volunteer of the Year for “The Great American Trailer Park Musical”; Ron King for Best Set in “Cabin Fever”; Jeff Adair for Best Special Production in “When Lilacs Last”; and “Cabin Fever” for Best Ensemble Cast.

DLT 2012/2013 scholarship winners include Anthony Alt from Northwest Whitfield High School, who received the J. Forest Ovbey Memorial Scholarship; Savannah Whittenburg from Southeast Whitfield High School, who is the inaugural winner of the Jimmy Nations Theatre Education Memorial Scholarship; and Elaine Martinez from Murray County High School, who received the Keith McDearis Musical Theatre Memorial Scholarship.