March 16, 2013

Rotary honors John Richmond

Submitted by the Rotary Club of Dalton

— Rotary provides the Lee Arrendale Award to a Rotarian who has shown that his attention to his vocation is exemplary. When introducing Dr. John Richmond as the recipient for 2012-2013, Mark Marlowe, past president of Rotary, said, “This award basically recognizes a Rotarian for vocational excellence, which is the fancy way of saying they are darn good at their job, believe in service above self and benefiting their fellow man through the job that they do.”

“The individual we are honoring this year has been a tremendous positive influence on others, being a mentor in Rotary as well as a friend. Thanks to this individual, to many of us, ‘nephrology’ is a real word. Dr. Richmond was the first full time kidney specialist in Dalton. After 28 years of practicing in Dalton, he has a reputation for excellence, as well as service to our community. Whether it be as a physician volunteer at the Whitfield County Health Department Medical Access clinic, or serving on the board of Conasauga Kidney Care which provides financial assistance to needy kidney patients, or participating in Dare to Care helping to screen individuals for cardiovascular risks, he exemplifies Rotary’s motto ‘service above self,’” Marlowe said.

With a bachelor’s and medical degree from West Virginia University, and a career spanning 30 years, Richmond has won many awards and served in many community roles. He has been a nominee for medical organizations’ community service and human endeavor service awards. He was Professional of the Year, 1993, Dalton-Whitfield Chamber of Commerce.

Richmond is in several listings for “Best Doctors in America” and “America’s Top Physicians.”

In Dalton he has been active in the AIDS Task Force, the chamber of commerce board of directors, the United Way, Dalton Education Foundation board of directors and the Northwest Georgia Healthcare Partnership.

Finally, Richmond has been a Rotarian in the Dalton club since 1985. He is a Bequest Society Member, multiple Paul Harris Fellow many times over, a Will Watt Fellow, a sustaining member of the foundation, a Benefactor and a past president.