Local News

December 17, 2012

Craig installed as first vice president of emergency management association

Whitfield County Emergency Services Director Claude Craig has begun serving a two-year term as first vice president of the Emergency Management Association of Georgia.

The installation of Craig and the other executive board officers, including President Robby Westbrook of Cherokee County, Second Vice President Marty Dixon of Rabun County, Secretary Lynn Smith of Habersham County and Treasurer William Wright of Barrow County, came during the annual business meeting Nov. 12-13 in Dillard.

The Emergency Management Association of Georgia (EMAG) is an association of professionals  serving its members by promoting professional development, providing networking opportunities and serving as an advocate for the profession of emergency management.

EMAG is governed by an executive committee consisting of the executive board and eight area chairs. Last year, Craig served as Area 6 chair.

EMAG has three primary goals. The first is to assist members in their efforts to save lives and protect property from the effects of disasters. Second, it provides a forum for professionals to discuss current issues in the emergency management field. And finally, it serves as a policy advisory board both to local emergency management agencies and to the Georgia Emergency Management Agency.

Each year, EMAG leaders meet face-to-face six times and by conference calls six times.

“By being involved in the direction of EMAG, I can bring back to the citizens of Whitfield County firsthand the latest emergency procedures and information,” Craig said.

Text Only
Local News