February 3, 2014

Runoff today for House District 2

Charles Oliver

— Voters in Trichum, Tunnel Hill and Westside in Whitfield County go to the polls again today to help determine who will fill the District 2 seat in the state House of Representatives.

District 2 also includes parts of Catoosa and Walker counties.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., though those in line at 7 p.m. will be allowed to vote after 7.

Pharmacist and former LaFayette mayor Neal Florence and businessman and former Chickamauga City Council member and school board member Steve Tarvin, both Republicans, face each other in the nonpartisan runoff for the unexpired term of Jay Neal, which concludes at the end of this year. Neal, a Republican, stepped down last November after being appointed by Gov. Nathan Deal as executive director of the Governor’s Office of Transition, Support and Re-entry, which helps integrate prison inmates into society.

Tarvin and Florence finished first and second respectively in a three-way special election on Jan. 7, with Tarvin taking 38.17 percent of the vote and Florence 34.29 percent.

Just 9.12 percent of eligible voters turned out for the special election. All registered District 2 voters are eligible to vote in the runoff, even if they did not vote in the special election.

Voters must show an accepted form of a valid photo ID. These include a Georgia driver’s license, even if expired; any valid state or federal government-issued photo ID, including a free voter ID card issued by a county registrar’s office or the Department of Driver Services; a valid passport; a valid employee photo ID from any branch, department, agency or entity of the U.S. government, the state of Georgia or any county, municipality, board, authority or other state entity; a valid U.S. military photo ID; or a valid tribal photo ID.