Local News

February 7, 2014

JaJay Henry of Shaw Industries named newest board of directors member at GNTC

James K. “Jay” Henry, director of Operations Support at Shaw Industries, was recently sworn in as Georgia Northwestern Technical College’s (GNTC) newest Board of Directors member by Pete McDonald, president of GNTC, at a meeting held on the Gordon County Campus.

Henry has worked with Shaw Industries for more than 20 years, with the past five years serving as director of Operations Support. He leads a very diverse group of corporate-level engineering, automation, energy, waste and manufacturing-related functions to support operations, marketing and sustainability processes across the enterprise. He previously served as the director of Samples Operations, in various manufacturing management positions, and as a management trainee, systems engineer.

Henry is a graduate of the Terry College of Business at the University of Georgia and lives in Ringgold with his wife Sandra and three children. He serves as a deacon and youth Sunday school teacher for his church and manages a youth traveling baseball team.

Georgia Northwestern’s board serves both in a community advisory capacity and in a limited administrative capacity, performing certain oversight responsibilities as designated by State Board policy. The local board is comprised of 16 members from the business and industrial communities from nine counties in the service area (Catoosa, Chattooga, Dade, Floyd, Gordon, Murray, Polk, Walker and Whitfield). State Board policy defines the role and responsibilities of the local board. Board members are selected because of their experience, ability and dedication to deal with issues that relate to the mission of occupational education and are without contractual, employment, or personal financial investment in the school.

Listed are members of GNTC’s Board of Directors showing the county, place of employment and title:

• Brian Anderson, Whitfield, Greater Dalton Chamber of Commerce, president and CEO.

• Mary Sib Banks, Floyd, News Publishing Co., vice president of community relations.

• Dr. Brent Box, Gordon, Gordon Hospital, chief hospitalist.

• Vann Brown, Whitfield, ArrowStar LLC, president.

• Dr. Paul Ferguson, Floyd, retired physician, Harbin Clinic.

• Randall Fox, Gordon, Fox Systems Inc., president and general manager.

• Penny Grigg, Walker, Nissin Brake, human resources manager.

• Jay Henry, Catoosa, Shaw Industries, director, Operations Support.

• Anne Kaiser, Floyd, Georgia Power, vice president, Northwest Region.

• Andrew Kearton, Whitfield, IVC US Inc., vice president, manufacturing.

• Jimmy Lester, Polk, J.L. Lester and Son, president.

• Todd Murphy, Polk, The HON Co., vice president, general manager.

• Brittany Pittman, Murray, county sole commissioner.

• Vickie Reed, Murray, Murray County Schools, superintendent.

• Scott Tucker, Chattooga, United Community Bank, president.

• Phillip Williams, Chattooga, Trion City Schools, superintendent.

Murphy is board chair and Anderson is the vice chair.

Georgia Northwestern Technical College has campuses in Floyd, Gordon, Polk, Walker and Whitfield counties. Approximately 16,000 people benefit from GNTC’s credit and noncredit programs, making it the largest college in northwest Georgia and the fourth largest technical college in Georgia.


Text Only
Local News
  • runner thompson.jpg Taking the race back

    Dean Thompson didn’t go 100 yards in his 26.2 miles through the streets of Boston without seeing people on the side of the road cheering for him.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bobby Lee Dixon mg.jpg Officials: Man jailed for driving toward officer

    A Chatsworth man who officials said accelerated a vehicle toward a law enforcement officer who was approaching on foot remains in the Murray County jail without bond.

    April 23, 2014 2 Photos

  • Standoff 1 mlh.jpg Charges undetermined following standoff (Updated 5:45 p.m.)

    Police have yet to decide whether to press criminal charges against a man they say was armed and intoxicated while barricading himself in his office at a carpet mill in downtown Dalton Tuesday evening.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo 1 Story

  • Man charged for using fraudulent Social Security card

    A man is being held in the Whitfield County Jail on multiple charges for using a fraudulent Social Security card with someone else’s Social Security number to land a job at a rug manufacturer in Dalton and for providing false information to receive workers’ compensation benefits, according to the Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation’s Enforcement Division.

    April 23, 2014

  • Standoff 1 mlh.jpg Police: Four-hour standoff ends with peaceful surrender

    A man who was armed with at least one firearm and believed to be under the influence of alcohol surrendered to police Tuesday night after barricading himself for four hours inside a carpet mill in downtown Dalton, officials said.

    April 23, 2014 2 Photos

  • Murray deputy bit by drug dog while taking selfie

    A Murray County Sheriff’s Office deputy is recovering after one of the department’s drug dogs bit him in the face on Monday.

    April 23, 2014

  • Local wrestler ‘made everybody smile’

    Rash Renegade got his wrestling nickname after a motorcycle wreck several years ago left him with a bad case of road burn.

    April 23, 2014

  • Pinwheels in murray '14 1 mlh.jpg Awareness can prevent child abuse

    Three hundred forty-six pinwheels dotted the Murray County Courthouse lawn on Tuesday, representing 346 reported cases of child abuse in the county last year.

    April 23, 2014 2 Photos

  • Murray library, regional system still far apart

    Murray County officials say they will announce soon if they will follow through with their plan to take the Chatsworth-Murray Library out of the Northwest Georgia Regional Library System.

    April 22, 2014

  • Fire believed to have started outside home

    Investigators are still working to learn what sparked a fire that nearly destroyed a house at 602 Top St. in Dalton on Monday.

    April 22, 2014