October 4, 2013

Early voting starts Monday

From Staff Reports

— Early voting for the Nov. 5 municipal elections starts Monday, Oct. 14, and continues until Nov. 1.

The Whitfield County Board of Elections will conduct early voting for the cities of Dalton, Cohutta and Varnell. Early voting will take place in the elections office in the courthouse at 200 N. Selvidge St., Dalton, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on weekdays.

The cities of Tunnel Hill, Eton and Chatsworth have no contested races, so they will not be holding elections.

Voters need to bring one of the six accepted forms of photo identification. They are: a valid state or federal government-issued photo ID; a Georgia driver’s license, even if it’s expired; a valid employee photo ID from any local, state or federal government; a valid U.S. passport; a valid U.S. military photo ID; or a valid tribal photo ID.

The last day to register to vote in the November elections or to make a name or address change is Monday. Registration forms can be downloaded at the Georgia Secretary of State’s website, sos.georgia.gov. They can also be picked up at local elections offices, public libraries, public assistance offices, schools and most other government offices.

The Board of Elections will conduct logic and accuracy testing of the machines that will be used in early voting starting today at 9 a.m. in the elections office.