Local News

August 28, 2013

Dalton, Varnell get City Council contests as qualifying continues

At least two local contests are set for Election Day, Nov. 5.

Qualifying for several races in Whitfield and Murray counties began Monday. Qualifying in Cohutta and Chatsworth begins today and ends Friday.


Jafar Ware qualified Tuesday to run for Ward 4 on the City Council. He will face Gary Crews, who qualified to seek re-election on Monday.

Also on Monday, Tate O’Gwin qualified to run for Ward 2 on the City Council, which is currently held by Dick Lowrey, who has said he is not running again.

Sherwood Jones III and Steve Laird qualified to run for the Board of Education on Monday. Two seats are up for election, and the board members who hold those seats, Mark Orr and Steve Williams, have said they will not seek re-election. Jones and Laird did not specify which seat they are running for on their paperwork, said an assistant clerk with the City Clerk’s office. Seats on the city school board are not divided by area.

Qualifying ends today from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at City Hall. The qualifying fee for City Council is $360 and the fee for the Board of Education is $35.

Tunnel Hill

Alfred “Hub” Griffin qualified Tuesday for re-election for Post 4 on the City Council.

On Monday, Ray Anderson, incumbent for Post 3, and Mayor Kenny Gowin, incumbent for Post 5, also qualified. The City Council elects the mayor from council members.

Qualifying ends at City Hall today from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The qualifying fee is $35.


Michael Willocks and Jan Pourquoi qualified Tuesday for Seat 2 on the City Council, City Clerk Pam Garrison said. Both have not held office in Varnell before, Garrison said, adding that Seat 2 is currently held by Brent Newsome, who is not seeking re-election.

On Monday, David Owens resigned from Seat 5 of the council and qualified to run for mayor. Mayor Dan Peeples has said he will not seek re-election. A date for qualifying for Seat 5 is likely to be announced Thursday, Garrison said, adding that the race will go into the same election set for Nov. 5.

Ashlee Godfrey qualified on Monday to run for Seat 1 currently held by James Caldwell. Caldwell is also not planning to run for office again, Garrison said.

Qualifying ends today from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at City Hall. The qualifying fee is $35.

Text Only
Local News
  • Little library 1 mlh.jpg Little Libraries, big goal

    Whitfield County just received a new library.
    And better yet, 26 more are on the way to the region.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Picture 3.jpg Rock solid

    A great number of things have come and gone since 1974.
    One that hasn’t: a small Dalton school founded by parents wanting a unique learning environment for their children.

    July 27, 2014 2 Photos

  • Vann House Day '14 6 mlh.jpg History comes alive at Vann House

    SPRING PLACE — In the early 1800s, the 1,000-acre plantation belonging to Cherokee Indian leader James Vann was a bustling place.

    July 26, 2014 5 Photos

  • Local officials agree with Deal

    Regarding news last week that approximately 30 unaccompanied minors from Central America, who had crossed the southern border into the United States, were sent without warning to Dalton last year and enrolled in Dalton Public Schools, Republican politicians representing portions of Murray and Whitfield Counties agree — state and local school officials deserved to know in advance, they say.

    July 26, 2014

  • Former chamber location 2 mlh.jpg Plan could cut flooding, stormwater damage in Dalton

    On a recent day, McClellan Creek flowed gently through Harlan Godfrey Civitan Park. But some park goers who live near the area say that even a mild rain can turn the creek into a torrent that eats away at their property.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Civil War anniversary: The Battle of Crow Valley, May 9-12, 1864

    The Atlanta Campaign began during the first two weeks of May 1864 in and around Dalton. Union Maj. Gen. William T. Sherman’s strategy was to target two of his armies, about 80,000 men, against Confederate Gen. Joseph E. Johnston’s Army of Tennessee at Dalton. Then, while Johnston’s attention was diverted by these forces, he would secretly send his third army, about 25,000 troops under Maj. Gen. James B. McPherson, in a flanking movement to the southwest through Snake Creek Gap. Sherman’s goal was to break Johnston’s railroad supply line some 15 miles south at Resaca and trap Johnston’s Confederates in Dalton.

    July 26, 2014

  • New church being  built mlh.jpg Church construction continues

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Avans.jpg Three arrested in arson plot to claim insurance money

    Three people have been arrested for their role in a fire at a Chatsworth home as part of an insurance scam to collect money, officials said.

    July 25, 2014 3 Photos

  • Investigation into MFG chemical accident continues

    An investigation is still ongoing after a MFG Chemical employee was injured earlier this month at a plant on Kimberly Park Drive.

    July 25, 2014

  • Judge sets $100,000 bond for Cohutta man accused of incest, molestation

    A Cohutta man charged with incest, aggravated sodomy and child molestation was granted a $100,000 bond over the prosecutor’s objection on Friday.

    July 25, 2014