December 8, 2013

Bagley quiz bowl wins state championship; invited to nationals

Submitted by Bagley Middle School

— Nineteen members of the Bagley Middle School Junior Beta Club attended the 2013 Georgia Junior Beta Convention in Macon where the Quiz Bowl team won first place in Division II. Two other Bagley students won individual contests to also be invited to national competition.

The Junior Beta Convention theme this year is “Making History with Beta” in conjunction with the national convention to be held in historic Richmond, Va., next June. Several competitions are built around this theme as well. About 6,000 fifth- through ninth-graders from around the state were involved in various convention activities. Bagley’s trip was co-sponsored by the Spring Place Ruritan Club, Nina and Raymond Cochran, and Bagley alumna Jennifer Baxter.

The Quiz Bowl team finished third among 48 schools in preliminary competition which earned them a spot in the semifinals. There, the team defeated Miller Magnet School of Macon 145-30 to advance to the state championship match where they beat Pike County Middle School 170-30. Cole Cash and Aaron Howard led the Bagley team with 60 points each. Other team members were Hunter Mauldin, Katherine Baxter, George Davis, Caroline Ridley and Ben Hart.

Also advancing to national competitions were Josh Abernathy in crafts and Ashley Davidson in art (photography). Cash also made it to the finals in the spelling competition. Bagley entered the talent, club spotlight, speech, social studies, English, poetry, essay, math, Battle of the Books, science and Tower of Power contests as well. Students competing in those events were Abernathy, Mauldin, Jaden Baggett, Rylee Bartenfield, Adison Baynes, Jacob Chastain, Colby Cochran, Kristen Gibson, Elijah Hibbitt, Kanyon Kennedy, Dakota Fox and Blake Larmon.

The Bagley Junior Beta Club, organized in 1990, currently has almost 100 members in seventh and eighth grades. Sponsors are Tim Howard, Robin Baggett and Holly Green with much assistance from other faculty members and parents. Accompanying the students to convention were Baggett, Howard, April Baldridge and Jennifer Mauldin.

The first Beta Club was formed with 15 members in 1934 and the junior division was organized in 1961 as an educational organization for students in grades 5-9. Membership signifies that “the student has been approved by the administration of the school as a student of good character and mentality, creditable achievement, and commendable attitude — a student worthy of special recognition because of outstanding attainment and promise.” The five components of Beta are character, achievement, service, leadership and social involvement. The National Beta Club is headquartered in Spartanburg, S.C.