Voting in Cohutta, Dalton and Varnell today

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Tuesday, November 5, 2013 6:00 am | Updated: 12:56 am, Sat Oct 18, 2014.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. for elections in three area cities. Voters face at least one contested race in all three cities.

• Dalton: There are two contested races, one for City Council and one for Dalton Board of Education. Incumbent Gary Crews faces a challenge from J.K. Ware for the Ward 4 seat on the City Council.  On the school board, Steve Laird and Dr. Pablo Perez are seeking the seat being vacated by Mark Orr, who is not running for re-election this year.

• Cohutta: Greg Fowler, Wesley Mahan and incumbent Ben Manis are seeking two open seats on the City Council. The top two vote-getters will take those seats.

• Varnell: Anthony N. Hulsey faces former City Council member David Owens for mayor, and Jan Pourquoi faces Michael Willocks for City Council Seat 2.

The cities of Chatsworth, Eton and Tunnel Hill do not have any contested elections this year.

Voters will need to bring an accepted form of valid photo ID. These include a Georgia driver’s license, even if expired; any valid state or federal government-issued photo ID, including a free Voter ID card issued by a county registrar’s office or the Department of Driver Services; a valid passport; a valid employee photo ID from any branch, department, agency or entity of the U.S. government, the state of Georgia or any county, municipality, board, authority or other state entity; a valid U.S. military photo ID; or a valid tribal photo ID.

More about