Opinion

May 24, 2013

Murray honors war dead and their families Saturday

On Memorial Day, Americans will remember and honor those who have made the ultimate sacrifice for this country: The men and women who have died serving in the United States military.

On Saturday, Murray County residents will honor those military heroes as well as another group of individuals who have made a sacrifice almost as great. The county will dedicate a monument to its “gold star” mothers, women who have lost a son or daughter in service to the United States military.

During World War I, families would hang service flags outside their homes with blue stars representing each relative serving in military. As time passed, it became the custom to cover the blue star with a gold star when one of those family members was killed in combat. The mothers of those service members became known as gold star mothers, a term whose use continues today.

The Memorial Day celebrations are at 11 a.m. at Murray County Veterans Memorial Park  at 651 Hyden Tyler Road in Chatsworth.

In addition to the dedication of the monument to gold star mothers, one of the ball fields will be dedicated to a Murray County veteran. And there will be special speakers, music and food.

Residents of Murray County, as well as anyone who wishes to show their support, should make time to attend the event. It honors this nation’s heroes, as well as the women who nurtured them.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Successes continue at Dalton State College

    These are exciting times for our local college, Dalton State, both on campus and off.

    April 16, 2014

  • Mark Millican: The birds hushed their singing

    For the uninitiated, that line is from what many consider the greatest rock song of all time, “Stairway to Heaven,” by Led Zeppelin.

    April 15, 2014

  • Misty Watson: When blood sugar drops, anger rises

    It wouldn’t have taken 107 married couples and 21 days to figure out that being hungry makes people angry.

    April 15, 2014

  • Working for the man

    You may be one of the many Americans who will rush to file their income taxes today. But you may not yet have earned enough money to pay all of the taxes that will be imposed on you this year.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letter: The glib tongue, the fake smile

    A recent Daily Citizen column by Walter Williams will both awaken and frighten any thinking person who claims even a smidgen of knowledge about — or belief in —  either the Bible, world history or current events.

    April 15, 2014

  • College soccer team would bring local talent together

    Dreams of combining the best soccer players from all local high schools into one team finally could come true.

    April 13, 2014

  • Letter: Primaries feature many choices

    Many people are confused this year about the May 20 Election Day. Unfortunately, very few voters in Whitfield County actually go to the polls for a primary election. But this means any increase in participation can have a significant impact.

    April 12, 2014

  • Letter: Hooper for Murray chief magistrate

    Thanks to all the wonderful people and friends who backed me for District 1 Murray County Board of Education. You sure showed a lot of support. Sorry I had to step down due to my and my wife’s health. I am a lot better now.

    April 12, 2014

  • Judicial dispute could have been avoided

    Judicial elections in Whitfield and Murray counties tend to be low key. In fact, we can’t recall the last time an incumbent judge on the Conasauga Superior Court, which cover the two counties, has even faced a challenger.

    April 12, 2014

  • Citizen of the Week: Jonathan Rose

    Running for exercise is a popular hobby among many local residents, but at least one racing enthusiast plans to take his fun a step further today.

    April 11, 2014