Opinion

December 31, 2013

Letter: Always grateful

When I took over as the mayor of Varnell, back in November 2008, at the age of 31, one might say that I was “wet behind the ears.”

I had no experience in municipal government and virtually had no idea what I had just gotten in to. I had a passion to change my community and make it a better place to live, but I did not know exactly where to start. I also did not have the knowledge to fill out much of the required paperwork for the state of Georgia nor know many of the deadline dates that the state sets every year on certain reports and paperwork.

It was then that Tunnel Hill Mayor Kenny Gowin first offered to help me in any way, and he has continued to mentor me on an almost weekly basis since then, just to make sure I was all right and to see if I needed any help.

I’m not sure I could have made it without Mayor Gowin. His experience and his mentorship helped Mayor Pro Tem David Owens and myself along the way and we often leaned on Mayor Gowin for sound advice.

As I look back over the past five years, I believe that I have made Varnell a better place to live and raise a family. I’ve had hundreds of stressful days where I was constantly trying to manage a business, raise a young family, stay very involved in my church and manage the city of Varnell. Mayor Gowin helped me through many of those days and for that I will always be grateful. I hope the city of Tunnel Hill knows what great leadership they have in City Manager Blake Griffin and Mayor Kenny Gowin.

I also believe the citizens of Varnell should “tip their hat” to the leaders of the city of Tunnel Hill for the kindness and generosity they have given Varnell over the past several years.

Acts of kindness such as this are what make Whitfield County such a great place to live.

Dan Peeples

Varnell

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Sacrifices worth honoring

    Members of the Dalton City Council were recently approached by representatives of the local chapter of the Military Order of the Purple Heart with a request to declare Dalton a Purple Heart City. Council members indicated they will approve the request.

    July 24, 2014

  • We must do better

    The numbers tell a sad tale.
    Registered voters: 36,843.
    Cards cast: 5,307.
    That means the turnout for Tuesday’s runoffs in Whitfield County was a measly 14.4 percent, according to unofficial results from the Whitfield County elections office.

    July 23, 2014

  • Letter: Control immigration

    Thousands are starting to pour into our country, and things are getting personal. Why would we end up the bad guys if we turn away children who aren’t ours? How does it make us better people to let one man steal from our children and stand by and do nothing?

    July 23, 2014

  • Helping with Book Blast betters the community

    The school test results are in, and students in Whitfield and Murray counties mostly improved from a year ago, mirroring or exceeding average scores of their peers.

    July 23, 2014

  • Mark Millican: Guns are already everywhere

    Though it happened over 30 years ago, the image is still vivid.

    July 22, 2014

  • Charles Oliver: Former officer works overtime improperly

    Stephen F. Hall has pleaded guilty to theft by deception and falsifying a government record.

    July 22, 2014

  • Dalton council should seek answers

    Judicial elections in this area are usually pretty staid. In fact, they are generally nonexistent, since most judges run unopposed.

    July 21, 2014

  • Letter: Something to think about

    It has been better than four months now since Malaysia Flight 370 went missing. During that time we have heard all kinds of speculation, conjecture and opinions as to what happened to it. The only certainties to emerge are that the Malaysians fumbled the ball early on and there are some understandably distressed loved ones left to deal with their losses.

    July 21, 2014

  • Don’t forget the runoff

    Most folks are either getting ready for or still recovering from their summer vacations. So it’s easy to forget that Tuesday is an election day. A runoff election day to be precise.

    July 20, 2014

  • Be excited about a new grocery store, but stay loyal to the Green Spot

    The Daily Citizen reported on the front page of the July 15 newspaper that Dalton could get a new grocery store.

    July 19, 2014