Opinion

August 11, 2013

Letter: Deeply appreciative

We would like to thank Kris Thomas, Dalton Public Works, the Dalton Parks and Recreation Department, the Dalton Civitan Club and the Dalton Tree Board for the honor bestowed on our husband, father and grandfather (Harlan Godfrey) in renaming Civitan Park in his honor. We would also like to recognize and thank Mayor David Pennington, the City Council and the Dalton Parks and Recreation Board of Directors.

We deeply appreciate all the heartfelt thoughts and comments expressed to us about him. Harlan loved this community and all the people that call this city “home.” He enjoyed doing his part like so many others to make Dalton a better place to live and work, both now and for generations to come.

He was a humble man and would not have wanted the recognition, however, our family could not be more proud of a man we miss every day.

With our most sincere appreciation,

Carolyn Godfrey and daughters Tarre Green, Dawn Sellers and Kara Allen

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • We must do better

    The numbers tell a sad tale.
    Registered voters: 36,843.
    Cards cast: 5,307.
    That means the turnout for Tuesday’s runoffs in Whitfield County was a measly 14.4 percent, according to unofficial results from the Whitfield County elections office.

    July 23, 2014

  • Letter: Control immigration

    Thousands are starting to pour into our country, and things are getting personal. Why would we end up the bad guys if we turn away children who aren’t ours? How does it make us better people to let one man steal from our children and stand by and do nothing?

    July 23, 2014

  • Helping with Book Blast betters the community

    The school test results are in, and students in Whitfield and Murray counties mostly improved from a year ago, mirroring or exceeding average scores of their peers.

    July 23, 2014

  • Mark Millican: Guns are already everywhere

    Though it happened over 30 years ago, the image is still vivid.

    July 22, 2014

  • Charles Oliver: Former officer works overtime improperly

    Stephen F. Hall has pleaded guilty to theft by deception and falsifying a government record.

    July 22, 2014

  • Dalton council should seek answers

    Judicial elections in this area are usually pretty staid. In fact, they are generally nonexistent, since most judges run unopposed.

    July 21, 2014

  • Letter: Something to think about

    It has been better than four months now since Malaysia Flight 370 went missing. During that time we have heard all kinds of speculation, conjecture and opinions as to what happened to it. The only certainties to emerge are that the Malaysians fumbled the ball early on and there are some understandably distressed loved ones left to deal with their losses.

    July 21, 2014

  • Don’t forget the runoff

    Most folks are either getting ready for or still recovering from their summer vacations. So it’s easy to forget that Tuesday is an election day. A runoff election day to be precise.

    July 20, 2014

  • Be excited about a new grocery store, but stay loyal to the Green Spot

    The Daily Citizen reported on the front page of the July 15 newspaper that Dalton could get a new grocery store.

    July 19, 2014

  • John O. Schwenn: Making college completion easier

    There are, within the state of Georgia, an estimated 1.1 million adults who started a college degree program and never finished.

    July 19, 2014