Opinion

December 30, 2013

Another great year for high school football

The local 2013 high school football season included many memorable plays, players and games. Congratulations to each of the 25 players who made our recent all-area team, plus the 33 who earned honorable mention. It was the moments these players created that make us look fondly back at this past fall, and it was the contributions of many of these players that led to team success, with three squads (Dalton, Christian Heritage and Northwest Whitfield) reaching the state playoffs.

Among the honorees:

Junior linebacker/safety Eder Mora’s 14.5 tackles per game helped the Dalton Catamounts win the Region 7-4A championship and helped him become our player of the year.

Senior wideout Nich Bartley’s 70 catches and 1,214 receiving yards helped the Christian Heritage Lions to an outstanding season.

Senior wide receiver Tevin McDaniel’s ability to break tackles helped the Northwest Whitfield Bruins make the playoffs, while sophomore running back Drake McCowan’s 15 touchdowns and 1,022 yards rushing allowed North Murray to make a surprising late-season push for the playoffs, even if the Mountaineers fell short by a game.

Each player who made this year’s all-area squad should be proud of the honor, and quite a few on the honorable mention list probably have a justifiable argument for being on the team, also.

Thank you to the coaches for their hard work, and to the fans who joined us in celebrating another season of busy Friday nights full of fun, competition and outstanding players and teams.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Successes continue at Dalton State College

    These are exciting times for our local college, Dalton State, both on campus and off.

    April 16, 2014

  • Mark Millican: The birds hushed their singing

    For the uninitiated, that line is from what many consider the greatest rock song of all time, “Stairway to Heaven,” by Led Zeppelin.

    April 15, 2014

  • Misty Watson: When blood sugar drops, anger rises

    It wouldn’t have taken 107 married couples and 21 days to figure out that being hungry makes people angry.

    April 15, 2014

  • Working for the man

    You may be one of the many Americans who will rush to file their income taxes today. But you may not yet have earned enough money to pay all of the taxes that will be imposed on you this year.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letter: The glib tongue, the fake smile

    A recent Daily Citizen column by Walter Williams will both awaken and frighten any thinking person who claims even a smidgen of knowledge about — or belief in —  either the Bible, world history or current events.

    April 15, 2014

  • College soccer team would bring local talent together

    Dreams of combining the best soccer players from all local high schools into one team finally could come true.

    April 13, 2014

  • Letter: Primaries feature many choices

    Many people are confused this year about the May 20 Election Day. Unfortunately, very few voters in Whitfield County actually go to the polls for a primary election. But this means any increase in participation can have a significant impact.

    April 12, 2014

  • Letter: Hooper for Murray chief magistrate

    Thanks to all the wonderful people and friends who backed me for District 1 Murray County Board of Education. You sure showed a lot of support. Sorry I had to step down due to my and my wife’s health. I am a lot better now.

    April 12, 2014

  • Judicial dispute could have been avoided

    Judicial elections in Whitfield and Murray counties tend to be low key. In fact, we can’t recall the last time an incumbent judge on the Conasauga Superior Court, which cover the two counties, has even faced a challenger.

    April 12, 2014

  • Citizen of the Week: Jonathan Rose

    Running for exercise is a popular hobby among many local residents, but at least one racing enthusiast plans to take his fun a step further today.

    April 11, 2014

AP Video