Opinion

June 3, 2014

Letter: Thanks given for car show help

Thank you to all those who came out Saturday, May 31, and participated in our first car show for Murray County Relay For Life. We had 34 entries.

Congratulations to the showcase winners: Dwight Scott and Tony Freeman, Best Muscle; Lindia Walston, Custom Hot Rod Motor; Shawn Cline, Street Original; Buck Mitchell, Motorcycle; Troy Owens, Original Late; and Leon Lonas, Rat Rod.

Thank you to all the local businesses for the door prize donations. A special thank you to our sponsors Walston Roofing, Ingles, Murray Mix, Community and Southern Bank, and Oakwood Cafe.

Also, thank you to the local businesses — Reed Lumber, Tractor Supply, Peak Fitness, Creme Hut, Biscuit Box, Enda’s, Open Range, El Pueblito Mexican Restaurant and Sierra’s — for advertising our fundraiser event.

The money raised for Relay For Life will go toward cancer research along with other programs that the American Cancer Society offers.

Murray County Relay For Life

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Dalton council should seek answers

    Judicial elections in this area are usually pretty staid. In fact, they are generally nonexistent, since most judges run unopposed.

    July 21, 2014

  • Letter: Something to think about

    It has been better than four months now since Malaysia Flight 370 went missing. During that time we have heard all kinds of speculation, conjecture and opinions as to what happened to it. The only certainties to emerge are that the Malaysians fumbled the ball early on and there are some understandably distressed loved ones left to deal with their losses.

    July 21, 2014

  • Don’t forget the runoff

    Most folks are either getting ready for or still recovering from their summer vacations. So it’s easy to forget that Tuesday is an election day. A runoff election day to be precise.

    July 20, 2014

  • Be excited about a new grocery store, but stay loyal to the Green Spot

    The Daily Citizen reported on the front page of the July 15 newspaper that Dalton could get a new grocery store.

    July 19, 2014

  • John O. Schwenn: Making college completion easier

    There are, within the state of Georgia, an estimated 1.1 million adults who started a college degree program and never finished.

    July 19, 2014

  • Guest column: Blevins supporter questions Wilbanks

    I support David Blevins in his campaign to be elected Conasauga Circuit Superior Court Judge on Tuesday, July 22. First, please get out and vote. Have a say in your local government.

    July 19, 2014

  • Citizens of the Week: Pleasant Grove Fire Station, Charles Crump

    Imagine this: One normal Thursday, you make preparations to bake a few dozen apple muffins for friends and neighbors, as you have countless times before. You bake the first batch without a hitch. Then, after you’ve placed the second batch in the oven, a loud noise sounds, your smoke alarm starts blaring, and your entire kitchen is full of smoke.

    July 18, 2014

  • A tournament to be proud of

    The scene Sunday afternoon at Lakeshore Park looked similar to one we see each fall on Friday nights around northwest Georgia.

    July 17, 2014

  • Still time to vote early

    Summertime, and the living is hectic.

    July 15, 2014

  • Mark Millican: Down with the berry picking blues

    It was there, and then it wasn’t — and Mr. Gravity took over.

    July 15, 2014