Opinion

June 13, 2014

Citizen of the Week: Rick Klein

Rick Klein is no stranger to serving the community.

Klein started serving the Dalton area when he began working with United Way of Northwest Georgia in 1987. During his time there, he was involved in many aspects of United Way including fundraising, community investments, finance and as board chair. His work in community investments led him to volunteer with the Family Support Council.

About 20 years ago, Klein served on the Infant Preschool Council board for the Family Support Council, later going on to serve as president of the Board of Directors in 2000 and 2001. Under his leadership, the council opened Oak Haven Second Chance Home, a group home for teen mothers and their children.

“Rick’s dedication to a cause doesn’t end when he leaves a board,” said Holly Rice, executive director of the Family Support Council. “He has continued to be available to assist us with fundraisers and to cook breakfast each year at our various camps.”

Most recently, Klein prepared breakfast for Camp LePapillon, the Family Support Council’s annual camp for pregnant and parenting teens and their children. As he has done for the past 18 years, Klein put on an apron and prepared pancakes and biscuits for campers.

“He not only cooks a feast, but he also provides the food,” said Rice.

“Although I always enjoy his pancakes, homemade pies and ‘Yankee biscuits,’ my favorite memory of Rick includes tights,” continued Rice. “Many years ago, I saw him go above and beyond the call of duty when he and another board member, Larry Duffie, dressed in tights in an attempt to look like elves at a Christmas party for teen parents and their children. A six-and-a-half-foot-tall man wearing tights is a memorable sight — and a scary one for some of the small children,” she laughed.

“It speaks volumes about how far Rick will go to bring a little joy to the children he seeks to help.”

For his boundless efforts to help others and his decades of community service, The Daily Citizen names Rick Klein Citizen of the Week.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • We must do better

    The numbers tell a sad tale.
    Registered voters: 36,843.
    Cards cast: 5,307.
    That means the turnout for Tuesday’s runoffs in Whitfield County was a measly 14.4 percent, according to unofficial results from the Whitfield County elections office.

    July 23, 2014

  • Letter: Control immigration

    Thousands are starting to pour into our country, and things are getting personal. Why would we end up the bad guys if we turn away children who aren’t ours? How does it make us better people to let one man steal from our children and stand by and do nothing?

    July 23, 2014

  • Helping with Book Blast betters the community

    The school test results are in, and students in Whitfield and Murray counties mostly improved from a year ago, mirroring or exceeding average scores of their peers.

    July 23, 2014

  • Mark Millican: Guns are already everywhere

    Though it happened over 30 years ago, the image is still vivid.

    July 22, 2014

  • Charles Oliver: Former officer works overtime improperly

    Stephen F. Hall has pleaded guilty to theft by deception and falsifying a government record.

    July 22, 2014

  • Dalton council should seek answers

    Judicial elections in this area are usually pretty staid. In fact, they are generally nonexistent, since most judges run unopposed.

    July 21, 2014

  • Letter: Something to think about

    It has been better than four months now since Malaysia Flight 370 went missing. During that time we have heard all kinds of speculation, conjecture and opinions as to what happened to it. The only certainties to emerge are that the Malaysians fumbled the ball early on and there are some understandably distressed loved ones left to deal with their losses.

    July 21, 2014

  • Don’t forget the runoff

    Most folks are either getting ready for or still recovering from their summer vacations. So it’s easy to forget that Tuesday is an election day. A runoff election day to be precise.

    July 20, 2014

  • Be excited about a new grocery store, but stay loyal to the Green Spot

    The Daily Citizen reported on the front page of the July 15 newspaper that Dalton could get a new grocery store.

    July 19, 2014

  • John O. Schwenn: Making college completion easier

    There are, within the state of Georgia, an estimated 1.1 million adults who started a college degree program and never finished.

    July 19, 2014