Opinion

April 25, 2013

Sequester: Mixed up by storytelling

Once again the Obama administration and its allies are trying to make Americans feel pain and discomfort. They started by closing the White House for tours but forgot to stop the private parties.

This administration is hoping we the citizens do not look at the facts. Sequester does not have any cuts, regardless of what they say. The federal government will still spend more money  than it did in the prior year. They just do not get to spend as much as they want. That is not a cut. However, this does not stop their storytelling.

Now we are all to fear air travel. The Federal Aviation Administration is telling us about the doom and gloom with the furloughs of air traffic controllers. Let’s review the facts. According to research done by a contributor to Forbes magazine, even with the furloughs, air traffic controllers will handle fewer flights per hour of work than they did six years ago. And since 2006, the number of air traffic controllers has held steady at 27,000 despite a 13 percent reduction in the number of flights.

“If the sequester cuts their hours by 10 percent, the sequestered flight controller will still handle 3 percent fewer flights than six years ago,” the story on the magazine’s website stated.

Unfortunately, we have a White House that does not let simple facts get in the way of its political story. It’s another sad example of party politics trumping the American citizen.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Move carefully, but soon

    No one intended for it to happen. No one had any bad motives.
    But during a period of 40 years or more, quite a few people didn’t do enough planning, didn’t have enough foresight to see what all of the development in Dalton would do.

    July 27, 2014

  • Local school systems must bear costs of federal immigration failure

    No word. No warning. Little help.
    That’s what Dalton Public Schools officials received from the federal government when it dropped 30 Central American students into local classrooms last school year.

    July 26, 2014

  • Sacrifices worth honoring

    Members of the Dalton City Council were recently approached by representatives of the local chapter of the Military Order of the Purple Heart with a request to declare Dalton a Purple Heart City. Council members indicated they will approve the request.

    July 24, 2014

  • We must do better

    The numbers tell a sad tale.
    Registered voters: 36,843.
    Cards cast: 5,307.
    That means the turnout for Tuesday’s runoffs in Whitfield County was a measly 14.4 percent, according to unofficial results from the Whitfield County elections office.

    July 23, 2014

  • Letter: Control immigration

    Thousands are starting to pour into our country, and things are getting personal. Why would we end up the bad guys if we turn away children who aren’t ours? How does it make us better people to let one man steal from our children and stand by and do nothing?

    July 23, 2014

  • Helping with Book Blast betters the community

    The school test results are in, and students in Whitfield and Murray counties mostly improved from a year ago, mirroring or exceeding average scores of their peers.

    July 23, 2014

  • Mark Millican: Guns are already everywhere

    Though it happened over 30 years ago, the image is still vivid.

    July 22, 2014

  • Charles Oliver: Former officer works overtime improperly

    Stephen F. Hall has pleaded guilty to theft by deception and falsifying a government record.

    July 22, 2014

  • Dalton council should seek answers

    Judicial elections in this area are usually pretty staid. In fact, they are generally nonexistent, since most judges run unopposed.

    July 21, 2014

  • Letter: Something to think about

    It has been better than four months now since Malaysia Flight 370 went missing. During that time we have heard all kinds of speculation, conjecture and opinions as to what happened to it. The only certainties to emerge are that the Malaysians fumbled the ball early on and there are some understandably distressed loved ones left to deal with their losses.

    July 21, 2014