Opinion

April 25, 2013

Sequester: Mixed up by storytelling

Once again the Obama administration and its allies are trying to make Americans feel pain and discomfort. They started by closing the White House for tours but forgot to stop the private parties.

This administration is hoping we the citizens do not look at the facts. Sequester does not have any cuts, regardless of what they say. The federal government will still spend more money  than it did in the prior year. They just do not get to spend as much as they want. That is not a cut. However, this does not stop their storytelling.

Now we are all to fear air travel. The Federal Aviation Administration is telling us about the doom and gloom with the furloughs of air traffic controllers. Let’s review the facts. According to research done by a contributor to Forbes magazine, even with the furloughs, air traffic controllers will handle fewer flights per hour of work than they did six years ago. And since 2006, the number of air traffic controllers has held steady at 27,000 despite a 13 percent reduction in the number of flights.

“If the sequester cuts their hours by 10 percent, the sequestered flight controller will still handle 3 percent fewer flights than six years ago,” the story on the magazine’s website stated.

Unfortunately, we have a White House that does not let simple facts get in the way of its political story. It’s another sad example of party politics trumping the American citizen.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Mark Millican: The birds hushed their singing

    For the uninitiated, that line is from what many consider the greatest rock song of all time, “Stairway to Heaven,” by Led Zeppelin.

    April 15, 2014

  • Misty Watson: When blood sugar drops, anger rises

    It wouldn’t have taken 107 married couples and 21 days to figure out that being hungry makes people angry.

    April 15, 2014

  • Working for the man

    You may be one of the many Americans who will rush to file their income taxes today. But you may not yet have earned enough money to pay all of the taxes that will be imposed on you this year.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letter: The glib tongue, the fake smile

    A recent Daily Citizen column by Walter Williams will both awaken and frighten any thinking person who claims even a smidgen of knowledge about — or belief in —  either the Bible, world history or current events.

    April 15, 2014

  • College soccer team would bring local talent together

    Dreams of combining the best soccer players from all local high schools into one team finally could come true.

    April 13, 2014

  • Letter: Primaries feature many choices

    Many people are confused this year about the May 20 Election Day. Unfortunately, very few voters in Whitfield County actually go to the polls for a primary election. But this means any increase in participation can have a significant impact.

    April 12, 2014

  • Letter: Hooper for Murray chief magistrate

    Thanks to all the wonderful people and friends who backed me for District 1 Murray County Board of Education. You sure showed a lot of support. Sorry I had to step down due to my and my wife’s health. I am a lot better now.

    April 12, 2014

  • Judicial dispute could have been avoided

    Judicial elections in Whitfield and Murray counties tend to be low key. In fact, we can’t recall the last time an incumbent judge on the Conasauga Superior Court, which cover the two counties, has even faced a challenger.

    April 12, 2014

  • Citizen of the Week: Jonathan Rose

    Running for exercise is a popular hobby among many local residents, but at least one racing enthusiast plans to take his fun a step further today.

    April 11, 2014

  • Community champions make world a better place

    We sometimes think a good community is one with attractive buildings, well-kept homes and beautiful parks. But buildings, homes and parks, no matter how attractive, don’t make a community. People do.

    April 10, 2014