Opinion

August 16, 2013

Letter: How America was founded

Excellent editorial on the contribution that Dan Peeples has made to Varnell. As a relative newcomer to this wonderful part of America (we arrived in 1993), I also have been extremely impressed with how a young man has taken on the challenge of improving his community and achieved it with flying colors.

This is the basic strength of being American, not what political bent you are, but how can one contribute to making a difference to the community you live in. Dan Peeples has shown that no matter how young you are, as long as you are focused, realize it is a team effort and have leadership skills and energy, then you can achieve your goals.

I understand Dan’s reason for his decision to let someone else take the helm, but hope that we in Georgia have not lost his energy, enthusiasm and leadership skills. This example is the basis of how America was founded and it is something that all of us should recognize and encourage in our children and grandchildren.

 

Thomas L. Rennie

Cohutta

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Dalton council should seek answers

    Judicial elections in this area are usually pretty staid. In fact, they are generally nonexistent, since most judges run unopposed.

    July 21, 2014

  • Letter: Something to think about

    It has been better than four months now since Malaysia Flight 370 went missing. During that time we have heard all kinds of speculation, conjecture and opinions as to what happened to it. The only certainties to emerge are that the Malaysians fumbled the ball early on and there are some understandably distressed loved ones left to deal with their losses.

    July 21, 2014

  • Don’t forget the runoff

    Most folks are either getting ready for or still recovering from their summer vacations. So it’s easy to forget that Tuesday is an election day. A runoff election day to be precise.

    July 20, 2014

  • Be excited about a new grocery store, but stay loyal to the Green Spot

    The Daily Citizen reported on the front page of the July 15 newspaper that Dalton could get a new grocery store.

    July 19, 2014

  • John O. Schwenn: Making college completion easier

    There are, within the state of Georgia, an estimated 1.1 million adults who started a college degree program and never finished.

    July 19, 2014

  • Guest column: Blevins supporter questions Wilbanks

    I support David Blevins in his campaign to be elected Conasauga Circuit Superior Court Judge on Tuesday, July 22. First, please get out and vote. Have a say in your local government.

    July 19, 2014

  • Citizens of the Week: Pleasant Grove Fire Station, Charles Crump

    Imagine this: One normal Thursday, you make preparations to bake a few dozen apple muffins for friends and neighbors, as you have countless times before. You bake the first batch without a hitch. Then, after you’ve placed the second batch in the oven, a loud noise sounds, your smoke alarm starts blaring, and your entire kitchen is full of smoke.

    July 18, 2014

  • A tournament to be proud of

    The scene Sunday afternoon at Lakeshore Park looked similar to one we see each fall on Friday nights around northwest Georgia.

    July 17, 2014

  • Still time to vote early

    Summertime, and the living is hectic.

    July 15, 2014

  • Mark Millican: Down with the berry picking blues

    It was there, and then it wasn’t — and Mr. Gravity took over.

    July 15, 2014