Opinion

March 19, 2013

Letter: Thanks expressed for help with summit

The Carter Hope Center and I would like to express our gratitude to local businesses and their employees who assisted us in facilitating the Criminal Justice and Substance Abuse Summit. The event was held at the Mack Gaston Community Center in Dalton on March 14. The training was well-attended by law enforcement and treatment providers throughout the community.

Due to the generosity of these local companies we were able to provide free local training for substance abuse counselors and parole/probation officers. Kroger on Cleveland Highway generously donated all the refreshments for breakfast and snacks, Oakwood Café and Kasey Carpenter provided the lunch catering and Tom Pinson with the Mack Gaston Community Center provided the training area.

The Mack Gaston Community Center is an excellent facility and a great asset to our area. The staff is extremely friendly and was very accommodating as the event grew much larger than originally anticipated. These local professionals are part of what make Dalton such a great community and a wonderful place to live.

Chuck Smith

Director, Carter Hope Center

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Sacrifices worth honoring

    Members of the Dalton City Council were recently approached by representatives of the local chapter of the Military Order of the Purple Heart with a request to declare Dalton a Purple Heart City. Council members indicated they will approve the request.

    July 24, 2014

  • We must do better

    The numbers tell a sad tale.
    Registered voters: 36,843.
    Cards cast: 5,307.
    That means the turnout for Tuesday’s runoffs in Whitfield County was a measly 14.4 percent, according to unofficial results from the Whitfield County elections office.

    July 23, 2014

  • Letter: Control immigration

    Thousands are starting to pour into our country, and things are getting personal. Why would we end up the bad guys if we turn away children who aren’t ours? How does it make us better people to let one man steal from our children and stand by and do nothing?

    July 23, 2014

  • Helping with Book Blast betters the community

    The school test results are in, and students in Whitfield and Murray counties mostly improved from a year ago, mirroring or exceeding average scores of their peers.

    July 23, 2014

  • Mark Millican: Guns are already everywhere

    Though it happened over 30 years ago, the image is still vivid.

    July 22, 2014

  • Charles Oliver: Former officer works overtime improperly

    Stephen F. Hall has pleaded guilty to theft by deception and falsifying a government record.

    July 22, 2014

  • Dalton council should seek answers

    Judicial elections in this area are usually pretty staid. In fact, they are generally nonexistent, since most judges run unopposed.

    July 21, 2014

  • Letter: Something to think about

    It has been better than four months now since Malaysia Flight 370 went missing. During that time we have heard all kinds of speculation, conjecture and opinions as to what happened to it. The only certainties to emerge are that the Malaysians fumbled the ball early on and there are some understandably distressed loved ones left to deal with their losses.

    July 21, 2014

  • Don’t forget the runoff

    Most folks are either getting ready for or still recovering from their summer vacations. So it’s easy to forget that Tuesday is an election day. A runoff election day to be precise.

    July 20, 2014

  • Be excited about a new grocery store, but stay loyal to the Green Spot

    The Daily Citizen reported on the front page of the July 15 newspaper that Dalton could get a new grocery store.

    July 19, 2014