Opinion

March 29, 2014

Letter; Georgia’s new gun bill not the answer

Like the thousands who contacted Georgia Gov. Nathan Deal opposing the “Guns Everywhere” bill HB875/60, I do not believe this bill should be signed into law.

I have been a gun owner and a hunter. I am a veteran and believe in the Second Amendment. However, I do not believe that allowing guns to be carried in more and more places will do anything to help gun violence.

To the contrary, I believe the more people who are “carrying” in classrooms, airports, bars and other places the more gun violence we will have, especially in light of the “Stand Your Ground” laws.

We need common sense laws, such as effective background checks which will prevent guns getting into the hands of the mentally ill, domestic abusers and felons And, we need more funds for the diagnosis and treatment of the mentally ill.

I’m proud to stand with former Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords and her husband, retired Navy captain and astronaut Mark Kelly, who are committed to finding common sense solutions to prevent gun violence in our communities.

Floyd Franklin

Chatsworth

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Sacrifices worth honoring

    Members of the Dalton City Council were recently approached by representatives of the local chapter of the Military Order of the Purple Heart with a request to declare Dalton a Purple Heart City. Council members indicated they will approve the request.

    July 24, 2014

  • We must do better

    The numbers tell a sad tale.
    Registered voters: 36,843.
    Cards cast: 5,307.
    That means the turnout for Tuesday’s runoffs in Whitfield County was a measly 14.4 percent, according to unofficial results from the Whitfield County elections office.

    July 23, 2014

  • Letter: Control immigration

    Thousands are starting to pour into our country, and things are getting personal. Why would we end up the bad guys if we turn away children who aren’t ours? How does it make us better people to let one man steal from our children and stand by and do nothing?

    July 23, 2014

  • Helping with Book Blast betters the community

    The school test results are in, and students in Whitfield and Murray counties mostly improved from a year ago, mirroring or exceeding average scores of their peers.

    July 23, 2014

  • Mark Millican: Guns are already everywhere

    Though it happened over 30 years ago, the image is still vivid.

    July 22, 2014

  • Charles Oliver: Former officer works overtime improperly

    Stephen F. Hall has pleaded guilty to theft by deception and falsifying a government record.

    July 22, 2014

  • Dalton council should seek answers

    Judicial elections in this area are usually pretty staid. In fact, they are generally nonexistent, since most judges run unopposed.

    July 21, 2014

  • Letter: Something to think about

    It has been better than four months now since Malaysia Flight 370 went missing. During that time we have heard all kinds of speculation, conjecture and opinions as to what happened to it. The only certainties to emerge are that the Malaysians fumbled the ball early on and there are some understandably distressed loved ones left to deal with their losses.

    July 21, 2014

  • Don’t forget the runoff

    Most folks are either getting ready for or still recovering from their summer vacations. So it’s easy to forget that Tuesday is an election day. A runoff election day to be precise.

    July 20, 2014

  • Be excited about a new grocery store, but stay loyal to the Green Spot

    The Daily Citizen reported on the front page of the July 15 newspaper that Dalton could get a new grocery store.

    July 19, 2014