Opinion

March 29, 2014

Letter: Gov. Deal should veto gun bill

Dear Gov. Deal,

It must be most difficult to be in your job with so much responsibility. I so much remember the death of a beloved Atlanta judge and an Immigration and Customs Enforcement agent when a prisoner lost control in the Fulton County Courthouse. The result has cost the state a lot of money for increased security. I feel that allowing the carrying of a firearm to certain public places is putting a lot of people at risk.

We still have a lot of mentally ill and substance crazed people about. We need to think more about helping people not to be afraid of other people and less paranoid so that people do not use weapons to defend fear.

I was the victim of a violent crime and was able to escape by praying for the right words to calm the assailant. I would have been killed if I had  tried to defend myself with a weapon.

I would like for you, governor, to pray for the main tenant of all our religions: Love thy neighbor as thy self.

It has become a mania in our state to protect yourself, but police will tell you that individuals carrying guns scare them. Our late President Dwight Eisenhower knew the seriousness of war because that had been his life.

Law enforcement officers are circumspect about gun usage because they know that vigilante justice does not work. Thank you for your service.

Patti Champion-Garner

Fairmount

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Move carefully, but soon

    No one intended for it to happen. No one had any bad motives.
    But during a period of 40 years or more, quite a few people didn’t do enough planning, didn’t have enough foresight to see what all of the development in Dalton would do.

    July 27, 2014

  • Local school systems must bear costs of federal immigration failure

    No word. No warning. Little help.
    That’s what Dalton Public Schools officials received from the federal government when it dropped 30 Central American students into local classrooms last school year.

    July 26, 2014

  • Sacrifices worth honoring

    Members of the Dalton City Council were recently approached by representatives of the local chapter of the Military Order of the Purple Heart with a request to declare Dalton a Purple Heart City. Council members indicated they will approve the request.

    July 24, 2014

  • We must do better

    The numbers tell a sad tale.
    Registered voters: 36,843.
    Cards cast: 5,307.
    That means the turnout for Tuesday’s runoffs in Whitfield County was a measly 14.4 percent, according to unofficial results from the Whitfield County elections office.

    July 23, 2014

  • Letter: Control immigration

    Thousands are starting to pour into our country, and things are getting personal. Why would we end up the bad guys if we turn away children who aren’t ours? How does it make us better people to let one man steal from our children and stand by and do nothing?

    July 23, 2014

  • Helping with Book Blast betters the community

    The school test results are in, and students in Whitfield and Murray counties mostly improved from a year ago, mirroring or exceeding average scores of their peers.

    July 23, 2014

  • Mark Millican: Guns are already everywhere

    Though it happened over 30 years ago, the image is still vivid.

    July 22, 2014

  • Charles Oliver: Former officer works overtime improperly

    Stephen F. Hall has pleaded guilty to theft by deception and falsifying a government record.

    July 22, 2014

  • Dalton council should seek answers

    Judicial elections in this area are usually pretty staid. In fact, they are generally nonexistent, since most judges run unopposed.

    July 21, 2014

  • Letter: Something to think about

    It has been better than four months now since Malaysia Flight 370 went missing. During that time we have heard all kinds of speculation, conjecture and opinions as to what happened to it. The only certainties to emerge are that the Malaysians fumbled the ball early on and there are some understandably distressed loved ones left to deal with their losses.

    July 21, 2014