Opinion

October 27, 2013

Letter: Sims spoke the truth

God Bless Ms. Rhoda Sims for expressing her opinion based upon truth.

In the old Cowboy and Indian movies, as a kid, I remember hearing lines like “The only good Injun is a dead Injun.” Well, the way some people are expressing themselves about Republicans today you would think the same line would apply.

Tom Graves and some other Republicans in Congress stood strong on conservative values and voted accordingly. All Republicans are not RINOs (Republicans in name only). I agree on voting out the RINOs, but please don’t throw out those who stood the test for true conservatism as a Republican elected official.

I am committed to stand for “What I Believe is Right for All Americans!”

Paul A. Tipton

Dalton

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Understandable uncertainty from taxpayers

    It’s not yet official, but Dalton residents should expect to pay more in school property taxes this year.

    April 20, 2014

  • Letter Candidate outlines his platform

    To the citizens of Dalton and Whitfield County,
    My name is Dr. Nicky P. Starling and I am a candidate for Whitfield County Commissioner District 1. I did not attend the Republican forum on April 8 because a pastor friend was killed by a drunk driver and I chose to support his family at a memorial service.

    April 20, 2014

  • Citizen of the Week: Kacee Smith of the Georgia Rampage

    When the Georgia Rampage became Dalton’s first professional indoor football team last year, it would have been easy for the owner and players to focus only on drawing attention to themselves as they tried to build up the team’s following.

    April 18, 2014

  • Successes continue at Dalton State College

    These are exciting times for our local college, Dalton State, both on campus and off.

    April 16, 2014

  • Mark Millican: The birds hushed their singing

    For the uninitiated, that line is from what many consider the greatest rock song of all time, “Stairway to Heaven,” by Led Zeppelin.

    April 15, 2014

  • Misty Watson: When blood sugar drops, anger rises

    It wouldn’t have taken 107 married couples and 21 days to figure out that being hungry makes people angry.

    April 15, 2014

  • Working for the man

    You may be one of the many Americans who will rush to file their income taxes today. But you may not yet have earned enough money to pay all of the taxes that will be imposed on you this year.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letter: The glib tongue, the fake smile

    A recent Daily Citizen column by Walter Williams will both awaken and frighten any thinking person who claims even a smidgen of knowledge about — or belief in —  either the Bible, world history or current events.

    April 15, 2014

  • College soccer team would bring local talent together

    Dreams of combining the best soccer players from all local high schools into one team finally could come true.

    April 13, 2014

  • Letter: Primaries feature many choices

    Many people are confused this year about the May 20 Election Day. Unfortunately, very few voters in Whitfield County actually go to the polls for a primary election. But this means any increase in participation can have a significant impact.

    April 12, 2014