Opinion

October 27, 2013

Letter: Sims spoke the truth

God Bless Ms. Rhoda Sims for expressing her opinion based upon truth.

In the old Cowboy and Indian movies, as a kid, I remember hearing lines like “The only good Injun is a dead Injun.” Well, the way some people are expressing themselves about Republicans today you would think the same line would apply.

Tom Graves and some other Republicans in Congress stood strong on conservative values and voted accordingly. All Republicans are not RINOs (Republicans in name only). I agree on voting out the RINOs, but please don’t throw out those who stood the test for true conservatism as a Republican elected official.

I am committed to stand for “What I Believe is Right for All Americans!”

Paul A. Tipton

Dalton

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Scouts’ work helped make park opening possible

    Neither snow nor rain nor bitter cold stopped two local Boy Scouts from completing work vital to opening Whitfield County’s newest historical park.

    April 24, 2014

  • BaggettOBIT.jpg Roy Everrett Baggett

    Roy Everrett Baggett, 66, of Chatsworth, passed away on Thursday, April 24, 2014, surrounded by his loving family.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Library must reach decision soon

    Four months ago the board of the Chatsworth-Murray Library announced it would leave the Northwest Georgia Regional Library System by June 30 of this year, the end of the library system’s fiscal year.

    April 23, 2014

  • Letter: Concert was spectacular

    I believe Dalton achieved its most beautiful moment last April 18, on Thornton Avenue. It occurred in the sanctuary of First United Methodist Church of Dalton.

    April 23, 2014

  • An important part of the fight

    The lawns of Dalton City Hall and the Murray County Courthouse are filled with pinwheels this week.

    April 22, 2014

  • Mark Millican: Not just for college students

    It was the seemingly unanswerable question of the campus — and especially the faculty — when I first attended Dalton Junior College in the 1973-74 school year: “Is man inherently good, or inherently evil?”

    April 22, 2014

  • Charles Oliver: Evidence at the last minute or later

    In New York, Bronx County Criminal Court Judge John Wilson has banned prosecutor Megan Teesdale from his court.

    April 22, 2014

  • Misty Watson: Turns out, I’m a millennial

    The word millennial always conjures up this image of a guy wearing skinny jeans, Converse high tops, a plaid button-up shirt, thick-rimmed glasses, a hat, facial hair and a messenger bag slung over his shoulder.

    April 22, 2014

  • Understandable uncertainty from taxpayers

    It’s not yet official, but Dalton residents should expect to pay more in school property taxes this year.

    April 20, 2014

  • Letter Candidate outlines his platform

    To the citizens of Dalton and Whitfield County,
    My name is Dr. Nicky P. Starling and I am a candidate for Whitfield County Commissioner District 1. I did not attend the Republican forum on April 8 because a pastor friend was killed by a drunk driver and I chose to support his family at a memorial service.

    April 20, 2014

AP Video