Opinion

January 7, 2012

Jamie Jones: Welcome home again, J.R.

The voice on the telephone was some 800 miles away, in the heart of the hustle of New York City, a world away from his adopted hometown of Dalton.

The call was the beginning of a newspaper interview where the normal pleasantries are exchanged. Then, we would get down to business.

“Hi, this is Jamie Jones with The Daily Citizen newspaper. How are you doing?” I mindlessly asked.

I expected the rote reply of, “Fine. How are you?”

But the voice on the other end had a different response.

“Man, you don’t know how nice it is to hear that Southern drawl ...”

Taken aback, I let out a hearty laugh, and remarked that my accent wasn’t that noticeable.

Such was the beginning of a 45-minute conversation — it didn’t feel like a interview at all — in November 2008 with J.R. Martinez, a former Dalton resident who had recently begun an acting stint on ABC’s legendary soap opera, “All My Children.”

During that wide-ranging conversation, J.R. never shied away from a question. He spoke openly about his accident while serving in the Army in Iraq. In March 2003, he drove a military Humvee over a land mine, and the fiery explosion caused burns to more than 40 percent of his body. The flames left his face disfigured. Over the course of 34 months, J.R. endured 33 surgeries.

He detailed the dark days after the accident. The days he thought perhaps being dead was better than living with his physical scars. How women would turn their heads after seeing him.

But J.R.’s overall message was clear: hope. By playing the role of an injured military veteran who returns home on “All My Children” and being a motivational speaker, J.R. had the power to spread his message to countless others.

Over the next few years, J.R. and I spoke by phone for several stories. Our May 2011 conversation focused on his future, because the soap opera he starred on was being canceled after 41 years. Despite losing a job, J.R. remained upbeat about the opportunities before him.

This was just a few months before he hit stardom by winning “Dancing With the Stars,” before he appeared on the cover of People magazine, before he was the grand marshal for the Rose Bowl parade, before he returned to Dalton on Saturday for “J.R. Martinez Day: A Welcome Home Celebration,” which included a parade through downtown and a pep rally at the trade center.

His first welcome home parade happened in 2003. Supporters lined Walnut Avenue and packed the Kmart parking lot to welcome J.R. as he returned home for the first time since his devastating injuries.

On Saturday, I asked him to compare the two homecomings.

“They’re both so special, so different,” Martinez said. “The first one was really one of the reasons why I am where I am today. It catapulted me to understand that people can love me for who I am and not judge me based of my scars ... I remember thinking to myself, ‘Well, if nobody accepts me anywhere else in the country, I know I can come back to Dalton, Ga., and I’ll just be J.R., No. 36 who played on the Catamount football team ... And coming back now it’s a great feeling because I know I’ve made a lot of people proud.”

People who never before even considered watching “Dancing With the Stars” were suddenly glued to their television each Monday and Tuesday night. Even I watched the dancing show — all in the name of work. At least that’s what I told my friends and co-workers who needled me for watching a reality show.

He eventually won the contest, beating out celebrities that had better name recognition. But not a better story. Or better dancing skills.

There’s an old adage in the journalism world about always remaining objective, no matter the subject. There’s no cheering in the press box, so to speak.

But watching J.R. grind through weeks upon weeks of “Dancing With the Stars,” I found not rooting for the fellow Dalton High graduate difficult. In each story I wrote about his performance, remaining neutral in my coverage wasn’t always easy. J.R. advancing through the competition each week sold newspapers, and his success helped uplift Dalton.

We connect to multidimensional people such as J.R. for a variety of reasons. Maybe it’s because he’s a Dalton High graduate. Perhaps it’s because he’s Hispanic. A football player. A military veteran. A fighter. A dancer. A self-described goofball.

On his whirlwind trip back home, J.R. encountered a community that embraced him with the same vigor as when he arrived here from Hope, Ark., in the summer of 2001 as a 17-year-old kid who wanted to play football for the Dalton High School Catamounts.

Although his stay was brief, J.R. took in plenty of adoration.

And a nice helping of Southern accents, too.

Jamie Jones is a staff writer for The Daily Citizen. You can write to him at jamiejones@daltoncitizen.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Citizen of the Week: Kacee Smith of the Georgia Rampage

    When the Georgia Rampage became Dalton’s first professional indoor football team last year, it would have been easy for the owner and players to focus only on drawing attention to themselves as they tried to build up the team’s following.

    April 18, 2014

  • Successes continue at Dalton State College

    These are exciting times for our local college, Dalton State, both on campus and off.

    April 16, 2014

  • Mark Millican: The birds hushed their singing

    For the uninitiated, that line is from what many consider the greatest rock song of all time, “Stairway to Heaven,” by Led Zeppelin.

    April 15, 2014

  • Misty Watson: When blood sugar drops, anger rises

    It wouldn’t have taken 107 married couples and 21 days to figure out that being hungry makes people angry.

    April 15, 2014

  • Working for the man

    You may be one of the many Americans who will rush to file their income taxes today. But you may not yet have earned enough money to pay all of the taxes that will be imposed on you this year.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letter: The glib tongue, the fake smile

    A recent Daily Citizen column by Walter Williams will both awaken and frighten any thinking person who claims even a smidgen of knowledge about — or belief in —  either the Bible, world history or current events.

    April 15, 2014

  • College soccer team would bring local talent together

    Dreams of combining the best soccer players from all local high schools into one team finally could come true.

    April 13, 2014

  • Letter: Primaries feature many choices

    Many people are confused this year about the May 20 Election Day. Unfortunately, very few voters in Whitfield County actually go to the polls for a primary election. But this means any increase in participation can have a significant impact.

    April 12, 2014

  • Letter: Hooper for Murray chief magistrate

    Thanks to all the wonderful people and friends who backed me for District 1 Murray County Board of Education. You sure showed a lot of support. Sorry I had to step down due to my and my wife’s health. I am a lot better now.

    April 12, 2014

  • Judicial dispute could have been avoided

    Judicial elections in Whitfield and Murray counties tend to be low key. In fact, we can’t recall the last time an incumbent judge on the Conasauga Superior Court, which cover the two counties, has even faced a challenger.

    April 12, 2014