Opinion

January 7, 2012

Jamie Jones: Welcome home again, J.R.

The voice on the telephone was some 800 miles away, in the heart of the hustle of New York City, a world away from his adopted hometown of Dalton.

The call was the beginning of a newspaper interview where the normal pleasantries are exchanged. Then, we would get down to business.

“Hi, this is Jamie Jones with The Daily Citizen newspaper. How are you doing?” I mindlessly asked.

I expected the rote reply of, “Fine. How are you?”

But the voice on the other end had a different response.

“Man, you don’t know how nice it is to hear that Southern drawl ...”

Taken aback, I let out a hearty laugh, and remarked that my accent wasn’t that noticeable.

Such was the beginning of a 45-minute conversation — it didn’t feel like a interview at all — in November 2008 with J.R. Martinez, a former Dalton resident who had recently begun an acting stint on ABC’s legendary soap opera, “All My Children.”

During that wide-ranging conversation, J.R. never shied away from a question. He spoke openly about his accident while serving in the Army in Iraq. In March 2003, he drove a military Humvee over a land mine, and the fiery explosion caused burns to more than 40 percent of his body. The flames left his face disfigured. Over the course of 34 months, J.R. endured 33 surgeries.

He detailed the dark days after the accident. The days he thought perhaps being dead was better than living with his physical scars. How women would turn their heads after seeing him.

But J.R.’s overall message was clear: hope. By playing the role of an injured military veteran who returns home on “All My Children” and being a motivational speaker, J.R. had the power to spread his message to countless others.

Over the next few years, J.R. and I spoke by phone for several stories. Our May 2011 conversation focused on his future, because the soap opera he starred on was being canceled after 41 years. Despite losing a job, J.R. remained upbeat about the opportunities before him.

This was just a few months before he hit stardom by winning “Dancing With the Stars,” before he appeared on the cover of People magazine, before he was the grand marshal for the Rose Bowl parade, before he returned to Dalton on Saturday for “J.R. Martinez Day: A Welcome Home Celebration,” which included a parade through downtown and a pep rally at the trade center.

His first welcome home parade happened in 2003. Supporters lined Walnut Avenue and packed the Kmart parking lot to welcome J.R. as he returned home for the first time since his devastating injuries.

On Saturday, I asked him to compare the two homecomings.

“They’re both so special, so different,” Martinez said. “The first one was really one of the reasons why I am where I am today. It catapulted me to understand that people can love me for who I am and not judge me based of my scars ... I remember thinking to myself, ‘Well, if nobody accepts me anywhere else in the country, I know I can come back to Dalton, Ga., and I’ll just be J.R., No. 36 who played on the Catamount football team ... And coming back now it’s a great feeling because I know I’ve made a lot of people proud.”

People who never before even considered watching “Dancing With the Stars” were suddenly glued to their television each Monday and Tuesday night. Even I watched the dancing show — all in the name of work. At least that’s what I told my friends and co-workers who needled me for watching a reality show.

He eventually won the contest, beating out celebrities that had better name recognition. But not a better story. Or better dancing skills.

There’s an old adage in the journalism world about always remaining objective, no matter the subject. There’s no cheering in the press box, so to speak.

But watching J.R. grind through weeks upon weeks of “Dancing With the Stars,” I found not rooting for the fellow Dalton High graduate difficult. In each story I wrote about his performance, remaining neutral in my coverage wasn’t always easy. J.R. advancing through the competition each week sold newspapers, and his success helped uplift Dalton.

We connect to multidimensional people such as J.R. for a variety of reasons. Maybe it’s because he’s a Dalton High graduate. Perhaps it’s because he’s Hispanic. A football player. A military veteran. A fighter. A dancer. A self-described goofball.

On his whirlwind trip back home, J.R. encountered a community that embraced him with the same vigor as when he arrived here from Hope, Ark., in the summer of 2001 as a 17-year-old kid who wanted to play football for the Dalton High School Catamounts.

Although his stay was brief, J.R. took in plenty of adoration.

And a nice helping of Southern accents, too.

Jamie Jones is a staff writer for The Daily Citizen. You can write to him at jamiejones@daltoncitizen.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Sacrifices worth honoring

    Members of the Dalton City Council were recently approached by representatives of the local chapter of the Military Order of the Purple Heart with a request to declare Dalton a Purple Heart City. Council members indicated they will approve the request.

    July 24, 2014

  • We must do better

    The numbers tell a sad tale.
    Registered voters: 36,843.
    Cards cast: 5,307.
    That means the turnout for Tuesday’s runoffs in Whitfield County was a measly 14.4 percent, according to unofficial results from the Whitfield County elections office.

    July 23, 2014

  • Letter: Control immigration

    Thousands are starting to pour into our country, and things are getting personal. Why would we end up the bad guys if we turn away children who aren’t ours? How does it make us better people to let one man steal from our children and stand by and do nothing?

    July 23, 2014

  • Helping with Book Blast betters the community

    The school test results are in, and students in Whitfield and Murray counties mostly improved from a year ago, mirroring or exceeding average scores of their peers.

    July 23, 2014

  • Mark Millican: Guns are already everywhere

    Though it happened over 30 years ago, the image is still vivid.

    July 22, 2014

  • Charles Oliver: Former officer works overtime improperly

    Stephen F. Hall has pleaded guilty to theft by deception and falsifying a government record.

    July 22, 2014

  • Dalton council should seek answers

    Judicial elections in this area are usually pretty staid. In fact, they are generally nonexistent, since most judges run unopposed.

    July 21, 2014

  • Letter: Something to think about

    It has been better than four months now since Malaysia Flight 370 went missing. During that time we have heard all kinds of speculation, conjecture and opinions as to what happened to it. The only certainties to emerge are that the Malaysians fumbled the ball early on and there are some understandably distressed loved ones left to deal with their losses.

    July 21, 2014

  • Don’t forget the runoff

    Most folks are either getting ready for or still recovering from their summer vacations. So it’s easy to forget that Tuesday is an election day. A runoff election day to be precise.

    July 20, 2014

  • Be excited about a new grocery store, but stay loyal to the Green Spot

    The Daily Citizen reported on the front page of the July 15 newspaper that Dalton could get a new grocery store.

    July 19, 2014