Opinion

March 8, 2013

Letter: Celebrating women’s history month

I would like to start out Women’s History Month this year by extending my sincere thanks to Republican Sen. Orrin Hatch and Democratic Rep. Barbara Mikulski for cosponsoring the first congressional resolution in 1981 in favor of starting a Women’s History Week. This bipartisan action is the reason March is now dedicated towards learning about women’s history.

As a woman, a Muslim, and a student at Dalton State College, my heart aches whenever I hear the media imputing Islam for the lack of women’s education in Muslim countries. Yes, it is true that there are fanatics in Muslim countries that claim it is “Islam” that is teaching them to refute women’s rights.

However in reality, The Holy Prophet of Islam, Muhammad (may peace be upon him), said, “Pursuit of knowledge is the duty of every Muslim man and woman.” This quote clearly demonstrates that Islam advocates education for all, regardless of gender.

So I will celebrate Women’s History Month this year with grace and dignity.

Khola Humayun

Tunnel Hill

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • "We’ve had a great ride"

    For 60 years, the Green Spot has been a part of Dalton. It survived long after most other locally owned grocery stores in the area had folded to competition from big chain grocery stores and to big box super stores.

    July 29, 2014

  • Charles Oliver: Traveler from a district in Columbia?

    Jim Gray was traveling out of Orlando International Airport when a Transportation Security Administration officer tried to stop him from boarding his plane.

    July 29, 2014

  • Letter: Children are not the enemy

    We recently read somewhere that our country is at war, not with another nation but with one another.

    July 29, 2014

  • Ensuring the joy of reading

    They’re little, they’re libraries, and best of all, they’re free.

    July 28, 2014

  • Move carefully, but soon

    No one intended for it to happen. No one had any bad motives.
    But during a period of 40 years or more, quite a few people didn’t do enough planning, didn’t have enough foresight to see what all of the development in Dalton would do.

    July 27, 2014

  • Local school systems must bear costs of federal immigration failure

    No word. No warning. Little help.
    That’s what Dalton Public Schools officials received from the federal government when it dropped 30 Central American students into local classrooms last school year.

    July 26, 2014

  • Sacrifices worth honoring

    Members of the Dalton City Council were recently approached by representatives of the local chapter of the Military Order of the Purple Heart with a request to declare Dalton a Purple Heart City. Council members indicated they will approve the request.

    July 24, 2014

  • We must do better

    The numbers tell a sad tale.
    Registered voters: 36,843.
    Cards cast: 5,307.
    That means the turnout for Tuesday’s runoffs in Whitfield County was a measly 14.4 percent, according to unofficial results from the Whitfield County elections office.

    July 23, 2014

  • Letter: Control immigration

    Thousands are starting to pour into our country, and things are getting personal. Why would we end up the bad guys if we turn away children who aren’t ours? How does it make us better people to let one man steal from our children and stand by and do nothing?

    July 23, 2014

  • Helping with Book Blast betters the community

    The school test results are in, and students in Whitfield and Murray counties mostly improved from a year ago, mirroring or exceeding average scores of their peers.

    July 23, 2014