Opinion

March 8, 2013

Letter: Celebrating women’s history month

I would like to start out Women’s History Month this year by extending my sincere thanks to Republican Sen. Orrin Hatch and Democratic Rep. Barbara Mikulski for cosponsoring the first congressional resolution in 1981 in favor of starting a Women’s History Week. This bipartisan action is the reason March is now dedicated towards learning about women’s history.

As a woman, a Muslim, and a student at Dalton State College, my heart aches whenever I hear the media imputing Islam for the lack of women’s education in Muslim countries. Yes, it is true that there are fanatics in Muslim countries that claim it is “Islam” that is teaching them to refute women’s rights.

However in reality, The Holy Prophet of Islam, Muhammad (may peace be upon him), said, “Pursuit of knowledge is the duty of every Muslim man and woman.” This quote clearly demonstrates that Islam advocates education for all, regardless of gender.

So I will celebrate Women’s History Month this year with grace and dignity.

Khola Humayun

Tunnel Hill

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Citizen of the Week: Kacee Smith of the Georgia Rampage

    When the Georgia Rampage became Dalton’s first professional indoor football team last year, it would have been easy for the owner and players to focus only on drawing attention to themselves as they tried to build up the team’s following.

    April 18, 2014

  • Successes continue at Dalton State College

    These are exciting times for our local college, Dalton State, both on campus and off.

    April 16, 2014

  • Mark Millican: The birds hushed their singing

    For the uninitiated, that line is from what many consider the greatest rock song of all time, “Stairway to Heaven,” by Led Zeppelin.

    April 15, 2014

  • Misty Watson: When blood sugar drops, anger rises

    It wouldn’t have taken 107 married couples and 21 days to figure out that being hungry makes people angry.

    April 15, 2014

  • Working for the man

    You may be one of the many Americans who will rush to file their income taxes today. But you may not yet have earned enough money to pay all of the taxes that will be imposed on you this year.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letter: The glib tongue, the fake smile

    A recent Daily Citizen column by Walter Williams will both awaken and frighten any thinking person who claims even a smidgen of knowledge about — or belief in —  either the Bible, world history or current events.

    April 15, 2014

  • College soccer team would bring local talent together

    Dreams of combining the best soccer players from all local high schools into one team finally could come true.

    April 13, 2014

  • Letter: Primaries feature many choices

    Many people are confused this year about the May 20 Election Day. Unfortunately, very few voters in Whitfield County actually go to the polls for a primary election. But this means any increase in participation can have a significant impact.

    April 12, 2014

  • Letter: Hooper for Murray chief magistrate

    Thanks to all the wonderful people and friends who backed me for District 1 Murray County Board of Education. You sure showed a lot of support. Sorry I had to step down due to my and my wife’s health. I am a lot better now.

    April 12, 2014

  • Judicial dispute could have been avoided

    Judicial elections in Whitfield and Murray counties tend to be low key. In fact, we can’t recall the last time an incumbent judge on the Conasauga Superior Court, which cover the two counties, has even faced a challenger.

    April 12, 2014