Opinion

April 4, 2014

Citizen of the Week: Young soldier

During times of grief, trials can seem more difficult and problems harder to overcome. So too can acts of kindness mean even more and leave an even deeper impression.

When Dalton resident Catherine Harwood’s family had to lay her sister-in-law to rest recently, a young soldier who stood by and saluted the procession caught her attention as she neared the Wells Fargo building at Cleveland Highway and Dawnville Road.

“Beautiful sight!” Harwood said. “Our prayer is that this young man will see this and know that he touched our hearts and made us so proud that he is one of our boys!”

Harwood said she hopes God keeps the man safe and blesses him as he blessed the family.

“We may never know your name, sir, but we will never forget you,” Harwood said. “The family of Agnes Sue Long salutes you!”

Harwood said the family has since lost two more loved ones, and still the memory of the soldier’s salute is impressed into her mind.

She never was able to find out who he is or even in what branch of military he served.

“We would love to know his name and for him to know he is a shining example of an American soldier,” she said.

For his respect and attention given to a grieving American family, The Daily Citizen names the saluting service member Citizen of the Week.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Move carefully, but soon

    No one intended for it to happen. No one had any bad motives.
    But during a period of 40 years or more, quite a few people didn’t do enough planning, didn’t have enough foresight to see what all of the development in Dalton would do.

    July 27, 2014

  • Local school systems must bear costs of federal immigration failure

    No word. No warning. Little help.
    That’s what Dalton Public Schools officials received from the federal government when it dropped 30 Central American students into local classrooms last school year.

    July 26, 2014

  • Sacrifices worth honoring

    Members of the Dalton City Council were recently approached by representatives of the local chapter of the Military Order of the Purple Heart with a request to declare Dalton a Purple Heart City. Council members indicated they will approve the request.

    July 24, 2014

  • We must do better

    The numbers tell a sad tale.
    Registered voters: 36,843.
    Cards cast: 5,307.
    That means the turnout for Tuesday’s runoffs in Whitfield County was a measly 14.4 percent, according to unofficial results from the Whitfield County elections office.

    July 23, 2014

  • Letter: Control immigration

    Thousands are starting to pour into our country, and things are getting personal. Why would we end up the bad guys if we turn away children who aren’t ours? How does it make us better people to let one man steal from our children and stand by and do nothing?

    July 23, 2014

  • Helping with Book Blast betters the community

    The school test results are in, and students in Whitfield and Murray counties mostly improved from a year ago, mirroring or exceeding average scores of their peers.

    July 23, 2014

  • Mark Millican: Guns are already everywhere

    Though it happened over 30 years ago, the image is still vivid.

    July 22, 2014

  • Charles Oliver: Former officer works overtime improperly

    Stephen F. Hall has pleaded guilty to theft by deception and falsifying a government record.

    July 22, 2014

  • Dalton council should seek answers

    Judicial elections in this area are usually pretty staid. In fact, they are generally nonexistent, since most judges run unopposed.

    July 21, 2014

  • Letter: Something to think about

    It has been better than four months now since Malaysia Flight 370 went missing. During that time we have heard all kinds of speculation, conjecture and opinions as to what happened to it. The only certainties to emerge are that the Malaysians fumbled the ball early on and there are some understandably distressed loved ones left to deal with their losses.

    July 21, 2014