Opinion

April 23, 2014

Letter: Concert was spectacular

I believe Dalton achieved its most beautiful moment last April 18, on Thornton Avenue. It occurred in the sanctuary of First United Methodist Church of Dalton.

It was a spectacular concert titled “Passion of Christ, A Community Good Friday Concert” under the incredible and articulate direction of Justin Maxey, who also served as conductor, with Adam Burnette and Scott Atchison.

My wife and I find it incredible to have experienced in Dalton, Ga., a concert that exceeded the excellence of similar concerts we have attended in Atlanta, Charlotte, N.C., Dallas, Minneapolis and Washington, D.C.

Truly, those of us in the packed sanctuary left with a memorable blessing of a musical “Christian experience” made possible to the citizens of Dalton through the effort and leadership of First United Methodist Church of Dalton, Mr. Maxey and the senior pastor, Robin Lindsey, whom we, as non-members, receive, respect and love as God’s “Christian blessing” to our city.

Sanford Dover

Dalton

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Dalton council should seek answers

    Judicial elections in this area are usually pretty staid. In fact, they are generally nonexistent, since most judges run unopposed.

    July 21, 2014

  • Letter: Something to think about

    It has been better than four months now since Malaysia Flight 370 went missing. During that time we have heard all kinds of speculation, conjecture and opinions as to what happened to it. The only certainties to emerge are that the Malaysians fumbled the ball early on and there are some understandably distressed loved ones left to deal with their losses.

    July 21, 2014

  • Don’t forget the runoff

    Most folks are either getting ready for or still recovering from their summer vacations. So it’s easy to forget that Tuesday is an election day. A runoff election day to be precise.

    July 20, 2014

  • Be excited about a new grocery store, but stay loyal to the Green Spot

    The Daily Citizen reported on the front page of the July 15 newspaper that Dalton could get a new grocery store.

    July 19, 2014

  • John O. Schwenn: Making college completion easier

    There are, within the state of Georgia, an estimated 1.1 million adults who started a college degree program and never finished.

    July 19, 2014

  • Guest column: Blevins supporter questions Wilbanks

    I support David Blevins in his campaign to be elected Conasauga Circuit Superior Court Judge on Tuesday, July 22. First, please get out and vote. Have a say in your local government.

    July 19, 2014

  • Citizens of the Week: Pleasant Grove Fire Station, Charles Crump

    Imagine this: One normal Thursday, you make preparations to bake a few dozen apple muffins for friends and neighbors, as you have countless times before. You bake the first batch without a hitch. Then, after you’ve placed the second batch in the oven, a loud noise sounds, your smoke alarm starts blaring, and your entire kitchen is full of smoke.

    July 18, 2014

  • A tournament to be proud of

    The scene Sunday afternoon at Lakeshore Park looked similar to one we see each fall on Friday nights around northwest Georgia.

    July 17, 2014

  • Still time to vote early

    Summertime, and the living is hectic.

    July 15, 2014

  • Mark Millican: Down with the berry picking blues

    It was there, and then it wasn’t — and Mr. Gravity took over.

    July 15, 2014