Opinion

July 28, 2013

Letter: Really sad

Will we ever be able to have race not be an issue? I have a lot of white friends, and one of them informed me that we will never get rid of race.

I was told by my friend that I would never win an election in Whitfield County because of race, but that didn’t keep me from at least trying to make things change.

I have had a white man that owned a store at one time in the Rocky Face area tell me to my face that he wouldn’t vote for a black man. I was told that the purpose was actually to keep every elected office as white as possible north of Rome.

So what does a young person of color have as a future to look toward, even if they go to college and get an education? All elected offices locally are filled with white individuals except one, Tulley Johnson.

So I have another question. What if all the elected positions were filled with all people of color, except one white individual, how would you as a white person feel?

I was born right here in Dalton, Ga., the Carpet Capital of the World, and in 2013 — and in a way it still seems like 60 years ago — it’s really sad when I am asked how many people of color do we have in an elected office and I have to say, “One.”

Nicky Starling

Dalton

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • We must do better

    The numbers tell a sad tale.
    Registered voters: 36,843.
    Cards cast: 5,307.
    That means the turnout for Tuesday’s runoffs in Whitfield County was a measly 14.4 percent, according to unofficial results from the Whitfield County elections office.

    July 23, 2014

  • Letter: Control immigration

    Thousands are starting to pour into our country, and things are getting personal. Why would we end up the bad guys if we turn away children who aren’t ours? How does it make us better people to let one man steal from our children and stand by and do nothing?

    July 23, 2014

  • Helping with Book Blast betters the community

    The school test results are in, and students in Whitfield and Murray counties mostly improved from a year ago, mirroring or exceeding average scores of their peers.

    July 23, 2014

  • Mark Millican: Guns are already everywhere

    Though it happened over 30 years ago, the image is still vivid.

    July 22, 2014

  • Charles Oliver: Former officer works overtime improperly

    Stephen F. Hall has pleaded guilty to theft by deception and falsifying a government record.

    July 22, 2014

  • Dalton council should seek answers

    Judicial elections in this area are usually pretty staid. In fact, they are generally nonexistent, since most judges run unopposed.

    July 21, 2014

  • Letter: Something to think about

    It has been better than four months now since Malaysia Flight 370 went missing. During that time we have heard all kinds of speculation, conjecture and opinions as to what happened to it. The only certainties to emerge are that the Malaysians fumbled the ball early on and there are some understandably distressed loved ones left to deal with their losses.

    July 21, 2014

  • Don’t forget the runoff

    Most folks are either getting ready for or still recovering from their summer vacations. So it’s easy to forget that Tuesday is an election day. A runoff election day to be precise.

    July 20, 2014

  • Be excited about a new grocery store, but stay loyal to the Green Spot

    The Daily Citizen reported on the front page of the July 15 newspaper that Dalton could get a new grocery store.

    July 19, 2014

  • John O. Schwenn: Making college completion easier

    There are, within the state of Georgia, an estimated 1.1 million adults who started a college degree program and never finished.

    July 19, 2014