Opinion

May 3, 2013

Saturday Market begins 5th season

With the theme “High Five a Farmer,” the Downtown Dalton Saturday Market sprouts its fifth season Saturday, bringing a fresh crop of locally grown produce, arts and crafts and community activities to downtown.

The Market, sponsored by the Downtown Dalton Development Authority, invites area farmers and food vendors to sell their fresh wares. Artisans are also invited.

This year, the Market will move to the newly expanded area of Dalton Green, on the corner of Thornton Avenue and Waugh Street. This should provide an open and close-knit, yet more visible, setting for the occasion.

The extra room should be welcomed — the DDDA has had many new vendors from surrounding communities wanting to join the Market this year, according to Veronica French of the organization.

True, a lot of our favorite fruits and vegetables have yet to be harvested, indeed many have just been planted, but early-season produce should be available Saturday.

Buying produce at the Market means you’re supporting our local growers. And since fresh food is best for you, it’s a win-win for all.

And if the past Markets have taught us anything, it’s come early for the best selections.

The Market will be every Saturday through August. Times are 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Sacrifices worth honoring

    Members of the Dalton City Council were recently approached by representatives of the local chapter of the Military Order of the Purple Heart with a request to declare Dalton a Purple Heart City. Council members indicated they will approve the request.

    July 24, 2014

  • We must do better

    The numbers tell a sad tale.
    Registered voters: 36,843.
    Cards cast: 5,307.
    That means the turnout for Tuesday’s runoffs in Whitfield County was a measly 14.4 percent, according to unofficial results from the Whitfield County elections office.

    July 23, 2014

  • Letter: Control immigration

    Thousands are starting to pour into our country, and things are getting personal. Why would we end up the bad guys if we turn away children who aren’t ours? How does it make us better people to let one man steal from our children and stand by and do nothing?

    July 23, 2014

  • Helping with Book Blast betters the community

    The school test results are in, and students in Whitfield and Murray counties mostly improved from a year ago, mirroring or exceeding average scores of their peers.

    July 23, 2014

  • Mark Millican: Guns are already everywhere

    Though it happened over 30 years ago, the image is still vivid.

    July 22, 2014

  • Charles Oliver: Former officer works overtime improperly

    Stephen F. Hall has pleaded guilty to theft by deception and falsifying a government record.

    July 22, 2014

  • Dalton council should seek answers

    Judicial elections in this area are usually pretty staid. In fact, they are generally nonexistent, since most judges run unopposed.

    July 21, 2014

  • Letter: Something to think about

    It has been better than four months now since Malaysia Flight 370 went missing. During that time we have heard all kinds of speculation, conjecture and opinions as to what happened to it. The only certainties to emerge are that the Malaysians fumbled the ball early on and there are some understandably distressed loved ones left to deal with their losses.

    July 21, 2014

  • Don’t forget the runoff

    Most folks are either getting ready for or still recovering from their summer vacations. So it’s easy to forget that Tuesday is an election day. A runoff election day to be precise.

    July 20, 2014

  • Be excited about a new grocery store, but stay loyal to the Green Spot

    The Daily Citizen reported on the front page of the July 15 newspaper that Dalton could get a new grocery store.

    July 19, 2014