Opinion

October 4, 2013

Letter: Good community citizens

 I would like to recognize the Tunnel Hill Methodist Church. They have a Fellowship Hall that is just beautiful, well equipped and perfect for events. They graciously allow outsiders to use the facility and often at no charge.

My Sunday school class, the Abundant Life Class, at Dalton First United Methodist Church recently participated in “Don’t Go to Church, Be the Church.” It was our pleasure to assist the Travis Stewart family. Mr. Stewart was paralyzed in an automobile accident in April. We worked in a variety of areas to make Mr. Stewart’s home wheelchair accessible, as well as a number of other areas. In addition, we wanted to have a luncheon to honor Mr. Stewart and give our workers an opportunity to meet the entire family. This included his wife, two little girls and some extended family.

Since they live in the Tunnel Hill area we asked permission to have the luncheon in the Tunnel Hill Methodist Church Fellowship Hall. They immediately agreed and made it available to us for two days — one set-up day and the event day, Sept. 29.

They are good community citizens and deserve recognition.

Jean Wise

Varnell

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Ensuring the joy of reading

    They’re little, they’re libraries, and best of all, they’re free.

    July 28, 2014

  • Move carefully, but soon

    No one intended for it to happen. No one had any bad motives.
    But during a period of 40 years or more, quite a few people didn’t do enough planning, didn’t have enough foresight to see what all of the development in Dalton would do.

    July 27, 2014

  • Local school systems must bear costs of federal immigration failure

    No word. No warning. Little help.
    That’s what Dalton Public Schools officials received from the federal government when it dropped 30 Central American students into local classrooms last school year.

    July 26, 2014

  • Sacrifices worth honoring

    Members of the Dalton City Council were recently approached by representatives of the local chapter of the Military Order of the Purple Heart with a request to declare Dalton a Purple Heart City. Council members indicated they will approve the request.

    July 24, 2014

  • We must do better

    The numbers tell a sad tale.
    Registered voters: 36,843.
    Cards cast: 5,307.
    That means the turnout for Tuesday’s runoffs in Whitfield County was a measly 14.4 percent, according to unofficial results from the Whitfield County elections office.

    July 23, 2014

  • Letter: Control immigration

    Thousands are starting to pour into our country, and things are getting personal. Why would we end up the bad guys if we turn away children who aren’t ours? How does it make us better people to let one man steal from our children and stand by and do nothing?

    July 23, 2014

  • Helping with Book Blast betters the community

    The school test results are in, and students in Whitfield and Murray counties mostly improved from a year ago, mirroring or exceeding average scores of their peers.

    July 23, 2014

  • Mark Millican: Guns are already everywhere

    Though it happened over 30 years ago, the image is still vivid.

    July 22, 2014

  • Charles Oliver: Former officer works overtime improperly

    Stephen F. Hall has pleaded guilty to theft by deception and falsifying a government record.

    July 22, 2014

  • Dalton council should seek answers

    Judicial elections in this area are usually pretty staid. In fact, they are generally nonexistent, since most judges run unopposed.

    July 21, 2014