Opinion

April 12, 2014

Judicial dispute could have been avoided

Judicial elections in Whitfield and Murray counties tend to be low key. In fact, we can’t recall the last time an incumbent judge on the Conasauga Superior Court, which cover the two counties, has even faced a challenger.

But this year, Judge David Blevins faces two challengers, Dalton Municipal Court Judge Jim Wilbanks and Assistant District Attorney Scott Helton, and that race has emerged as one of the few so far this year with any fireworks.

Wilbanks has questioned whether Blevins’ serving as Gov. Nathan Deal’s local campaign chairman in 2010 had anything to do with Blevins landing the position. Blevins said there was nothing unethical about his appointment.

He does say he believes serving as a volunteer campaign chairman in Whitfield County as well as serving on the State Personnel Board gave Deal insight into his character and abilities.

“I would hope that the fact I had served well would be a favorable thing with the governor.” said Blevins. “I would hate to think that I would serve (and my service would work against me).”

Blevins came to the court in 2012 after Robert Adams stepped down. The seat was up for election in July 2012, but Adams retired before completing his term.

Five attorneys, including both Blevins and Wilbanks, applied to serve the remainder of the term, which expired at the end of 2012. The Judicial Nominating Commission for the state named Blevins and attorneys Celeste Creswell and Scott Minter as finalists for the post. After interviewing the three, Deal named Blevins judge.

But because of a quirk in the law, Blevins ended up serving not only the remainder of Adams’ term but two extra years.

Adams’ final day was Jan. 31, 2012. The state Constitution requires there be six months between the governor appointing a judge to fill an unexpired term and the next election for that seat. Deal appointed Blevins in February, leaving only about five months until the July 2012 election. Thus an election could not be held that year, so the next available day was this year’s general primary on May 20.

At the time, we urged Deal to wait until after the July primary to appoint someone to the bench. That way, voters could choose a new judge to fill the next term, and the person Deal appointed would serve only the final five months of Adams’ term.

Deal chose not to do that. There was nothing illegal about that choice, and there’s no evidence of any wrongdoing by either Deal or Blevins.

But we can understand how some might view the governor appointing the man who’d run his campaign in Whitfield County to a judicial post as just a little unseemly. And we can understand how someone who was denied a chance to run for an open judicial seat might feel cheated.

Ultimately, voters will decide on May 20 just how important this issue is. But we hope that local members of the Legislature will take another look at Georgia law and try to change it. Someone appointed to replace a judge who cannot or will not serve his full term should only serve the remainder of that term. That person should not also get two years of the next term in office for that post.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Move carefully, but soon

    No one intended for it to happen. No one had any bad motives.
    But during a period of 40 years or more, quite a few people didn’t do enough planning, didn’t have enough foresight to see what all of the development in Dalton would do.

    July 27, 2014

  • Local school systems must bear costs of federal immigration failure

    No word. No warning. Little help.
    That’s what Dalton Public Schools officials received from the federal government when it dropped 30 Central American students into local classrooms last school year.

    July 26, 2014

  • Sacrifices worth honoring

    Members of the Dalton City Council were recently approached by representatives of the local chapter of the Military Order of the Purple Heart with a request to declare Dalton a Purple Heart City. Council members indicated they will approve the request.

    July 24, 2014

  • We must do better

    The numbers tell a sad tale.
    Registered voters: 36,843.
    Cards cast: 5,307.
    That means the turnout for Tuesday’s runoffs in Whitfield County was a measly 14.4 percent, according to unofficial results from the Whitfield County elections office.

    July 23, 2014

  • Letter: Control immigration

    Thousands are starting to pour into our country, and things are getting personal. Why would we end up the bad guys if we turn away children who aren’t ours? How does it make us better people to let one man steal from our children and stand by and do nothing?

    July 23, 2014

  • Helping with Book Blast betters the community

    The school test results are in, and students in Whitfield and Murray counties mostly improved from a year ago, mirroring or exceeding average scores of their peers.

    July 23, 2014

  • Mark Millican: Guns are already everywhere

    Though it happened over 30 years ago, the image is still vivid.

    July 22, 2014

  • Charles Oliver: Former officer works overtime improperly

    Stephen F. Hall has pleaded guilty to theft by deception and falsifying a government record.

    July 22, 2014

  • Dalton council should seek answers

    Judicial elections in this area are usually pretty staid. In fact, they are generally nonexistent, since most judges run unopposed.

    July 21, 2014

  • Letter: Something to think about

    It has been better than four months now since Malaysia Flight 370 went missing. During that time we have heard all kinds of speculation, conjecture and opinions as to what happened to it. The only certainties to emerge are that the Malaysians fumbled the ball early on and there are some understandably distressed loved ones left to deal with their losses.

    July 21, 2014