Opinion

August 28, 2013

Letter: Living the American dream

I came as an immigrant to the U.S. in 1987 and have lived in Whitfield County since. Got married in 1992 to Debra. Became a proud U.S. citizen in 1994, one of the greatest days in my life. Allison, our only child, was born in 1996. In 2006 I started my own business, Global Works LLC.

Tuesday, I decided to run for public office in the United States of America. I am running for a seat on the Varnell City Council.

The state of Georgia has 159 counties — only Texas has more — and hundreds of cities. Big, small and very small. All of this made sense in the days of horse and buggy. Today, efficient and cost-effective government will eventually demand merger of counties and a redefining of the role of small cities, like Varnell.

The focus of a small town in 2013 should be to improve the quality of life in the community, with little desire to be a miniature big place. We should focus on strengthening the social fabric in our community and neighborhoods. City government as a catalyst for its people to come together and get to know one another. Organize activities for the children, the elderly, for everybody. Communities with strong social ties become desirable places to live with less crime, cleaner streets, more community pride. Small cities should work closely together with bigger governmental entities such as counties, not attempting to duplicate functions at the expense of the taxpayer.

Much good has been done in Varnell over the last few years. But in America we can always do better!

Living the American dream.

Can I kindly ask for your vote on Nov. 5, 2013?

Contact me at janforvarnell@gmail.com or (706) 428-1106.

Jan Pourquoi

Varnell

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Sacrifices worth honoring

    Members of the Dalton City Council were recently approached by representatives of the local chapter of the Military Order of the Purple Heart with a request to declare Dalton a Purple Heart City. Council members indicated they will approve the request.

    July 24, 2014

  • We must do better

    The numbers tell a sad tale.
    Registered voters: 36,843.
    Cards cast: 5,307.
    That means the turnout for Tuesday’s runoffs in Whitfield County was a measly 14.4 percent, according to unofficial results from the Whitfield County elections office.

    July 23, 2014

  • Letter: Control immigration

    Thousands are starting to pour into our country, and things are getting personal. Why would we end up the bad guys if we turn away children who aren’t ours? How does it make us better people to let one man steal from our children and stand by and do nothing?

    July 23, 2014

  • Helping with Book Blast betters the community

    The school test results are in, and students in Whitfield and Murray counties mostly improved from a year ago, mirroring or exceeding average scores of their peers.

    July 23, 2014

  • Mark Millican: Guns are already everywhere

    Though it happened over 30 years ago, the image is still vivid.

    July 22, 2014

  • Charles Oliver: Former officer works overtime improperly

    Stephen F. Hall has pleaded guilty to theft by deception and falsifying a government record.

    July 22, 2014

  • Dalton council should seek answers

    Judicial elections in this area are usually pretty staid. In fact, they are generally nonexistent, since most judges run unopposed.

    July 21, 2014

  • Letter: Something to think about

    It has been better than four months now since Malaysia Flight 370 went missing. During that time we have heard all kinds of speculation, conjecture and opinions as to what happened to it. The only certainties to emerge are that the Malaysians fumbled the ball early on and there are some understandably distressed loved ones left to deal with their losses.

    July 21, 2014

  • Don’t forget the runoff

    Most folks are either getting ready for or still recovering from their summer vacations. So it’s easy to forget that Tuesday is an election day. A runoff election day to be precise.

    July 20, 2014

  • Be excited about a new grocery store, but stay loyal to the Green Spot

    The Daily Citizen reported on the front page of the July 15 newspaper that Dalton could get a new grocery store.

    July 19, 2014