Opinion

August 28, 2013

Misty Watson: Oh, wait, MTV is where morality dies

I completely understand why you’re all shocked and talking nonstop about Miley Cyrus’ performance at MTV’s Video Music Awards on Sunday night. It’s not like MTV has ever strayed from its wholesome programming lineup before.

Oh, wait.

We’re talking about the network that quit playing music videos decades ago in lieu of quality shows such as “The Real World,” “Jersey Shore” and “16 and Pregnant.” The network has spawned fantastic role models for our teens and tweens, such as Snooki and Farrah Abraham.

OK. Well, that’s not the reason we’re shocked and appalled while apparently intrigued by the racy performance, which featured teddy bears, a foam finger and lots of hip action.

It must be because the VMAs have never stooped to that level before. The VMAs have always been a classy affair featuring lovely, talented artists, something you’d love to watch with your grandmother at your side.

Oh, wait.

But just 10 years ago we were all sitting around talking about a kiss between Madonna and Britney Spears. Wasn’t Christina Aguilera in on that as well? (And yes, that was 10 years ago! How many of us are feeling a little old right now?)

There was Lil’ Kim’s wardrobe featuring a carefully placed seashell and Lady Gaga’s dress made of raw meat. Not to mention thousands of backup dancers and lead performers on that stage who have danced in similar ways to Miley (though most of them have more coordination than that of a drunken, trashy stripper).

OK. Well, then the quality of the VMAs from previous years can’t possibly be what is fueling all this surprise.

It must be because we expect that kind of behavior from other stars, but Miley is a product of Disney. Disney is incapable of producing celebrities who ooze that level of smut.

Oh, wait.

We’re talking about the company that has launched careers for Christina Aguilera, Britney Spears and Lindsay Lohan. At this point, I’m just waiting to see who crashes and burns first, Miley or Lindsay.

So Miley isn’t the first seemingly sweet, innocent Disney star to go a little off the deep end. Do I need to remind you of Britney’s shaved-head period? And it isn’t like we haven’t had hints the real Miley is nothing like her TV persona we saw on “Hannah Montana.”  

Honestly, I’ve only watched the VMAs a couple of times, and Sunday night wasn’t one of those. But you’d have to live in a cave without Internet access to escape the photos, the tweets, the clips and the social media frenzy taking place right now because of the performance. Actually, that sounds nice. Anyone know where I can find a cave without Internet?

I pulled up the performance online the other night and my husband and I watched as Miley twisted her mouth and stuck out her Gene Simmons-esque tongue, rubbed inappropriately against Robin Thicke and danced with her backside hanging out of shorts that are not even appropriate for a Hooters waitress to wear. It was not a pleasant few minutes.

I turned to Chris, “I don’t get it. Yes, it’s horrid. But how is what she’s doing any worse than any other backup dancer or any other performer out there? Why is everyone carrying on?”

I can’t help but wonder if Billy Ray is sitting in a dark corner quietly singing “Don’t tell my heart, my achy breaky heart” as many other fathers of 20-year-olds before him have probably done.

This performance is just another reminder that MTV is where morality dies. Miley has joined the list of people who should be shipped off to a deserted island surrounded by sharks without any way to contact the outside world. Others on the island include the Kardashians, Lindsay and most reality stars.

Of course, it makes me wonder: Can we really blame them for being this way? Aren’t they just giving us what we as a society are asking for?

Murray County native Misty Watson is a staff writer and photographer for The Daily Citizen. You can tell her which Disney star you think is going to fall next at mistywatson@daltoncitizen.com, facebook.com/MistyWatsonDCN or on Twitter, @mistydwatson.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Tax holiday weekend is perfect time to shop

    August means children across the state are headed back to school, and for parents that means it’s time to buy new shoes and clothes for children who have outgrown their old ones. It means it’s time to buy new school supplies, and it may even mean it’s time to get a child a new computer to do their school work.

    July 30, 2014

  • "We’ve had a great ride"

    For 60 years, the Green Spot has been a part of Dalton. It survived long after most other locally owned grocery stores in the area had folded to competition from big chain grocery stores and to big box super stores.

    July 29, 2014

  • Charles Oliver: Traveler from a district in Columbia?

    Jim Gray was traveling out of Orlando International Airport when a Transportation Security Administration officer tried to stop him from boarding his plane.

    July 29, 2014

  • Letter: Children are not the enemy

    We recently read somewhere that our country is at war, not with another nation but with one another.

    July 29, 2014

  • Ensuring the joy of reading

    They’re little, they’re libraries, and best of all, they’re free.

    July 28, 2014

  • Move carefully, but soon

    No one intended for it to happen. No one had any bad motives.
    But during a period of 40 years or more, quite a few people didn’t do enough planning, didn’t have enough foresight to see what all of the development in Dalton would do.

    July 27, 2014

  • Local school systems must bear costs of federal immigration failure

    No word. No warning. Little help.
    That’s what Dalton Public Schools officials received from the federal government when it dropped 30 Central American students into local classrooms last school year.

    July 26, 2014

  • Sacrifices worth honoring

    Members of the Dalton City Council were recently approached by representatives of the local chapter of the Military Order of the Purple Heart with a request to declare Dalton a Purple Heart City. Council members indicated they will approve the request.

    July 24, 2014

  • We must do better

    The numbers tell a sad tale.
    Registered voters: 36,843.
    Cards cast: 5,307.
    That means the turnout for Tuesday’s runoffs in Whitfield County was a measly 14.4 percent, according to unofficial results from the Whitfield County elections office.

    July 23, 2014

  • Letter: Control immigration

    Thousands are starting to pour into our country, and things are getting personal. Why would we end up the bad guys if we turn away children who aren’t ours? How does it make us better people to let one man steal from our children and stand by and do nothing?

    July 23, 2014