Opinion

August 28, 2013

Misty Watson: Oh, wait, MTV is where morality dies

I completely understand why you’re all shocked and talking nonstop about Miley Cyrus’ performance at MTV’s Video Music Awards on Sunday night. It’s not like MTV has ever strayed from its wholesome programming lineup before.

Oh, wait.

We’re talking about the network that quit playing music videos decades ago in lieu of quality shows such as “The Real World,” “Jersey Shore” and “16 and Pregnant.” The network has spawned fantastic role models for our teens and tweens, such as Snooki and Farrah Abraham.

OK. Well, that’s not the reason we’re shocked and appalled while apparently intrigued by the racy performance, which featured teddy bears, a foam finger and lots of hip action.

It must be because the VMAs have never stooped to that level before. The VMAs have always been a classy affair featuring lovely, talented artists, something you’d love to watch with your grandmother at your side.

Oh, wait.

But just 10 years ago we were all sitting around talking about a kiss between Madonna and Britney Spears. Wasn’t Christina Aguilera in on that as well? (And yes, that was 10 years ago! How many of us are feeling a little old right now?)

There was Lil’ Kim’s wardrobe featuring a carefully placed seashell and Lady Gaga’s dress made of raw meat. Not to mention thousands of backup dancers and lead performers on that stage who have danced in similar ways to Miley (though most of them have more coordination than that of a drunken, trashy stripper).

OK. Well, then the quality of the VMAs from previous years can’t possibly be what is fueling all this surprise.

It must be because we expect that kind of behavior from other stars, but Miley is a product of Disney. Disney is incapable of producing celebrities who ooze that level of smut.

Oh, wait.

We’re talking about the company that has launched careers for Christina Aguilera, Britney Spears and Lindsay Lohan. At this point, I’m just waiting to see who crashes and burns first, Miley or Lindsay.

So Miley isn’t the first seemingly sweet, innocent Disney star to go a little off the deep end. Do I need to remind you of Britney’s shaved-head period? And it isn’t like we haven’t had hints the real Miley is nothing like her TV persona we saw on “Hannah Montana.”  

Honestly, I’ve only watched the VMAs a couple of times, and Sunday night wasn’t one of those. But you’d have to live in a cave without Internet access to escape the photos, the tweets, the clips and the social media frenzy taking place right now because of the performance. Actually, that sounds nice. Anyone know where I can find a cave without Internet?

I pulled up the performance online the other night and my husband and I watched as Miley twisted her mouth and stuck out her Gene Simmons-esque tongue, rubbed inappropriately against Robin Thicke and danced with her backside hanging out of shorts that are not even appropriate for a Hooters waitress to wear. It was not a pleasant few minutes.

I turned to Chris, “I don’t get it. Yes, it’s horrid. But how is what she’s doing any worse than any other backup dancer or any other performer out there? Why is everyone carrying on?”

I can’t help but wonder if Billy Ray is sitting in a dark corner quietly singing “Don’t tell my heart, my achy breaky heart” as many other fathers of 20-year-olds before him have probably done.

This performance is just another reminder that MTV is where morality dies. Miley has joined the list of people who should be shipped off to a deserted island surrounded by sharks without any way to contact the outside world. Others on the island include the Kardashians, Lindsay and most reality stars.

Of course, it makes me wonder: Can we really blame them for being this way? Aren’t they just giving us what we as a society are asking for?

Murray County native Misty Watson is a staff writer and photographer for The Daily Citizen. You can tell her which Disney star you think is going to fall next at mistywatson@daltoncitizen.com, facebook.com/MistyWatsonDCN or on Twitter, @mistydwatson.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Sacrifices worth honoring

    Members of the Dalton City Council were recently approached by representatives of the local chapter of the Military Order of the Purple Heart with a request to declare Dalton a Purple Heart City. Council members indicated they will approve the request.

    July 24, 2014

  • We must do better

    The numbers tell a sad tale.
    Registered voters: 36,843.
    Cards cast: 5,307.
    That means the turnout for Tuesday’s runoffs in Whitfield County was a measly 14.4 percent, according to unofficial results from the Whitfield County elections office.

    July 23, 2014

  • Letter: Control immigration

    Thousands are starting to pour into our country, and things are getting personal. Why would we end up the bad guys if we turn away children who aren’t ours? How does it make us better people to let one man steal from our children and stand by and do nothing?

    July 23, 2014

  • Helping with Book Blast betters the community

    The school test results are in, and students in Whitfield and Murray counties mostly improved from a year ago, mirroring or exceeding average scores of their peers.

    July 23, 2014

  • Mark Millican: Guns are already everywhere

    Though it happened over 30 years ago, the image is still vivid.

    July 22, 2014

  • Charles Oliver: Former officer works overtime improperly

    Stephen F. Hall has pleaded guilty to theft by deception and falsifying a government record.

    July 22, 2014

  • Dalton council should seek answers

    Judicial elections in this area are usually pretty staid. In fact, they are generally nonexistent, since most judges run unopposed.

    July 21, 2014

  • Letter: Something to think about

    It has been better than four months now since Malaysia Flight 370 went missing. During that time we have heard all kinds of speculation, conjecture and opinions as to what happened to it. The only certainties to emerge are that the Malaysians fumbled the ball early on and there are some understandably distressed loved ones left to deal with their losses.

    July 21, 2014

  • Don’t forget the runoff

    Most folks are either getting ready for or still recovering from their summer vacations. So it’s easy to forget that Tuesday is an election day. A runoff election day to be precise.

    July 20, 2014

  • Be excited about a new grocery store, but stay loyal to the Green Spot

    The Daily Citizen reported on the front page of the July 15 newspaper that Dalton could get a new grocery store.

    July 19, 2014