Opinion

September 27, 2013

Letter: There is hope

You hear of tragic stories of cancer every day. This is a story of hope and encouragement.

Gene Poe will be 86 today. He is a walking miracle. In July 2011 he was diagnosed with Stage 4 colon cancer, spread through the lymph nodes, and metastasized into his liver. He had a significant portion of his colon removed, multiple lymph nodes, and two-thirds of the left lobe of his liver removed as well.

Gene received his first round of chemotherapy on his 84th birthday. At times it has been hard, but he has never given up. He has done whatever his doctors told him he needed to do to get better. He has been surrounded by his family, friends and church family from the beginning.

The outpouring of love from his church has been tremendous. He is a member at Salem Baptist Church, and they have been sending him cards, calling, visiting, bringing meals and, most importantly, praying for him since the beginning. Many other churches have as well.

He drives himself to chemo, and most all his appointments. During this time he has also taken care of our mother, Hazel Poe. She fell breaking her left wrist, had surgery on her right wrist, and also was hospitalized for a medical condition.

He still mows his own yard, and helped his son-in-law plant and harvest a garden. He has always loved to fish, and continues to go to Chuck Harmon’s pond, as well as David Guess’ pond, pretty much every week that the weather is good.

Tuesday of this week one of his sister-in-laws had a procedure and Gene went to sit with his brother to keep him company during the procedure. He continues to take the chemo, and we pray it doesn’t come back, but as of August 2013 he is cancer free.

We give thanks to Dr. John Antalis for proceeding quickly when he felt something was wrong, Dr. Monica Verma for her expert care, but most of all we give praise and honor to the great healer, Jesus Christ.

There is hope. If you see Gene today, wish him a Happy Birthday.

Carol Pierce

Dalton

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Sacrifices worth honoring

    Members of the Dalton City Council were recently approached by representatives of the local chapter of the Military Order of the Purple Heart with a request to declare Dalton a Purple Heart City. Council members indicated they will approve the request.

    July 24, 2014

  • We must do better

    The numbers tell a sad tale.
    Registered voters: 36,843.
    Cards cast: 5,307.
    That means the turnout for Tuesday’s runoffs in Whitfield County was a measly 14.4 percent, according to unofficial results from the Whitfield County elections office.

    July 23, 2014

  • Letter: Control immigration

    Thousands are starting to pour into our country, and things are getting personal. Why would we end up the bad guys if we turn away children who aren’t ours? How does it make us better people to let one man steal from our children and stand by and do nothing?

    July 23, 2014

  • Helping with Book Blast betters the community

    The school test results are in, and students in Whitfield and Murray counties mostly improved from a year ago, mirroring or exceeding average scores of their peers.

    July 23, 2014

  • Mark Millican: Guns are already everywhere

    Though it happened over 30 years ago, the image is still vivid.

    July 22, 2014

  • Charles Oliver: Former officer works overtime improperly

    Stephen F. Hall has pleaded guilty to theft by deception and falsifying a government record.

    July 22, 2014

  • Dalton council should seek answers

    Judicial elections in this area are usually pretty staid. In fact, they are generally nonexistent, since most judges run unopposed.

    July 21, 2014

  • Letter: Something to think about

    It has been better than four months now since Malaysia Flight 370 went missing. During that time we have heard all kinds of speculation, conjecture and opinions as to what happened to it. The only certainties to emerge are that the Malaysians fumbled the ball early on and there are some understandably distressed loved ones left to deal with their losses.

    July 21, 2014

  • Don’t forget the runoff

    Most folks are either getting ready for or still recovering from their summer vacations. So it’s easy to forget that Tuesday is an election day. A runoff election day to be precise.

    July 20, 2014

  • Be excited about a new grocery store, but stay loyal to the Green Spot

    The Daily Citizen reported on the front page of the July 15 newspaper that Dalton could get a new grocery store.

    July 19, 2014