Opinion

October 27, 2013

Letter: Democrats agree Ted Cruz was right

Mr. Bean spends a lot of time bashing those rascally Republicans. Bad economy, blame Republicans. Bad weather, you get the picture.

Democrats don’t take blame and don’t expect blame from their lemmings in the party or in the press. I’m not allowed space to comment on his every remark during his last tirade, but I was wondering about one thing that he may be able to explain. He states, “The shutdowns or near shutdowns by the Republicans in 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013 have created economic uncertainty ...” I wonder if Mr. Bean would agree that because, during all of these years, except maybe 2013, the Senate (controlled by Democrats) produced no budget, uncertainty loomed all over the nation. Because there was no long-term plan for operating the government, it was necessary to pass continuing resolutions (CRs).

You can blame everything you want on the Republicans and praise to high heaven the Democrats but it was not the Republicans who caused CRs to be necessary.

A side note: The Democrats take great pleasure in blaming Republicans for the shutdown and demonizing Ted Cruz, who wanted to delay the individual mandate in Obamacare. What do you think about all the Democrats who are now calling for delays, extensions and whatever else they can do to distance themselves from the disaster known as Obamacare? I guess Ted Cruz was irrefutably right!

Doug Hammontree

Dalton

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Library must reach decision soon

    Four months ago the board of the Chatsworth-Murray Library announced it would leave the Northwest Georgia Regional Library System by June 30 of this year, the end of the library system’s fiscal year.

    April 23, 2014

  • Letter: Concert was spectacular

    I believe Dalton achieved its most beautiful moment last April 18, on Thornton Avenue. It occurred in the sanctuary of First United Methodist Church of Dalton.

    April 23, 2014

  • An important part of the fight

    The lawns of Dalton City Hall and the Murray County Courthouse are filled with pinwheels this week.

    April 22, 2014

  • Mark Millican: Not just for college students

    It was the seemingly unanswerable question of the campus — and especially the faculty — when I first attended Dalton Junior College in the 1973-74 school year: “Is man inherently good, or inherently evil?”

    April 22, 2014

  • Charles Oliver: Evidence at the last minute or later

    In New York, Bronx County Criminal Court Judge John Wilson has banned prosecutor Megan Teesdale from his court.

    April 22, 2014

  • Misty Watson: Turns out, I’m a millennial

    The word millennial always conjures up this image of a guy wearing skinny jeans, Converse high tops, a plaid button-up shirt, thick-rimmed glasses, a hat, facial hair and a messenger bag slung over his shoulder.

    April 22, 2014

  • Understandable uncertainty from taxpayers

    It’s not yet official, but Dalton residents should expect to pay more in school property taxes this year.

    April 20, 2014

  • Letter Candidate outlines his platform

    To the citizens of Dalton and Whitfield County,
    My name is Dr. Nicky P. Starling and I am a candidate for Whitfield County Commissioner District 1. I did not attend the Republican forum on April 8 because a pastor friend was killed by a drunk driver and I chose to support his family at a memorial service.

    April 20, 2014

  • Citizen of the Week: Kacee Smith of the Georgia Rampage

    When the Georgia Rampage became Dalton’s first professional indoor football team last year, it would have been easy for the owner and players to focus only on drawing attention to themselves as they tried to build up the team’s following.

    April 18, 2014

  • Successes continue at Dalton State College

    These are exciting times for our local college, Dalton State, both on campus and off.

    April 16, 2014

AP Video