Opinion

Opinion
  • Play it safe for the Fourth

    The Fourth of July will be here in one week as America celebrates its founding with the adoption of the Declaration of Independence.

    June 26, 2014

  • A welcome ranking, but plenty more to do

    Georgia got a bit of welcome, and frankly unexpected, good news earlier this week.

    June 25, 2014

  • Remember the runoffs

    We asked earlier this year, following the May 20 primaries, that voters not forget the runoffs that resulted from the results that day, and that is still important.

    June 24, 2014

  • Mark Millican: Prognosticator says GOP will not win U.S. Senate

    The raucous cheering you just heard is Democrats reading that headline.
    The increase of heat in the room is the rising of Republicans’ blood pressure by doing the same.

    June 24, 2014

  • Charles Oliver: Police officer found guilty in shooting

    A jury has found former District Heights, Md., police officer Johnnie Riley guilty of first- and second-degree assault for shooting Calvin Kyle in the back.

    June 24, 2014

  • Search for new Whitfield fire chief worked well

    Hiring department heads ranks with writing a budget as one of the most important things that local elected officials do. That’s particularly true when the department provides a vital service, such as fire protection.

    June 23, 2014

  • Kozlowski rode for the future

    For many of us, learning to ride a bicycle was a key part of our childhood, a step towards independence and part of exploring the world around us.

    June 22, 2014

  • Tanner Blackton: I am not my generation

    For as long as I can remember, I have been called an “old soul.”
    Old soul? What does that mean? Does that mean that I’m secretly an old woman trapped in the body of a 21-year-old? I’m not sure, but I’ve always identified as someone who feels out of place in this generation.

    June 22, 2014

  • Dalton needs you

    Standing up in your community and asking your friends and neighbors to elect you to a public office can be a scary and hard proposition. People can find lots of reasons not to serve their community, especially if an election must be campaigned for and won.

    June 22, 2014

  • Jamie Jones: The new summer reading list

    Back then, summers were nothing but fun.
    The swimming pool during the scorching days, kick-the-can under the stars when the temperature waned, video games in-between.

    June 22, 2014