Opinion

Opinion
  • Tanner Blackton: I am not my generation

    For as long as I can remember, I have been called an “old soul.”
    Old soul? What does that mean? Does that mean that I’m secretly an old woman trapped in the body of a 21-year-old? I’m not sure, but I’ve always identified as someone who feels out of place in this generation.

    June 22, 2014

  • Dalton needs you

    Standing up in your community and asking your friends and neighbors to elect you to a public office can be a scary and hard proposition. People can find lots of reasons not to serve their community, especially if an election must be campaigned for and won.

    June 22, 2014

  • Jamie Jones: The new summer reading list

    Back then, summers were nothing but fun.
    The swimming pool during the scorching days, kick-the-can under the stars when the temperature waned, video games in-between.

    June 22, 2014

  • Citizen of the Week: Mary West

    They say home is where the heart is, and sometimes it takes a big heart to make a home.

    June 21, 2014

  • Campaign forums educate the voters

    We’re big fans of public participation in the political process.

    June 20, 2014

  • Letter: Some education facts

    A recent article in Education Week titled “Condition of Education” reported:

    June 20, 2014

  • Celebrate Mark Pace's birthday as he hits 100

    Mark Pace is having a birthday party and the entire community is invited.

    June 19, 2014

  • Repairs at Emery Center need to start now

    The two parties that hold the fate of the Emery Center in the balance, the city of Dalton and the Emery Center’s board of directors, are in agreement.

    June 17, 2014

  • Letter: Obama’s latest mess

    Let’s forget for the moment a handful of Obama’s incredible fiascoes:

    June 17, 2014

  • Letter: A clarification

    Please let me explain a statement I made. That statement was we don’t have at this time any black police officers, principals, judges, council persons or commissioners.

    June 17, 2014