November 19, 2013

SE debuts swim teams in meet at Etowah High

From Staff Reports

— Southeast Whitfield High School’s swimming and diving teams competed in the first meet in program history Monday, taking on Blessed Trinity, Creekview, Harrison, Sequoyah and host Etowah.

While neither Southeast’s boys nor girls teams won any events, coach Carol Clayton said the swimmers exceeded her expectations for the debut.

“We had a lot of swimmers do their personal bests,” Clayton said. “We timed them at practice last week and based how they did today off that. We did really well.”

Clayton didn’t have team or individual finishes from the meet but noted a few swimmers for both the boys and girls squads who stood out. Austin Knapp swam the 50-yard freestyle in 42.61 seconds. Others she noted were Natalia Romero (50 freestyle, 53.0), Amber Garcia (50 freestyle, 55.54), Christian Hernandez (100 butterfly, 1:37.87), Kara Ratcliff (100 butterfly, 1:33.19) and Sandro Ruiz (200 freestyle, 3:48.39). Clayton also noted the boys 200 freestyle relay team of Jose Hurtado, Juan Rodriguez, Ruiz and Hernandez (2:45.45) and the girls 200 freestyle relay of Lauren Thomas, Ivette Barrera, Sabrina Jones and Ratcliff (2:41).

“They did way better than we have in practice,” Clayton said.

“We still have room for improvement but we’re ready for the next meet.”

Southeast’s next meet is Dec. 3 at Adairsville High School against Cass. Clayton previously told The Daily Citizen that Southeast’s boys and girls teams have a combined 19 swimmers.


• North Murray opened its season with a 56-24 win against Gordon Central in Chatsworth.

Winners for the Mountaineers were Marty Nix (106 pounds), Alex Gambino (120), Luis Velez (126), Hagen Steelman (132), Matt Pellam (136), Chris Brown (145), Juan Salaises (152), Ethan Center (160), Jerardo Fraire (170) and Brandon Adame (285).

North Murray also wrestled several junior varsity matches against Gordon Central and Morris Innovative.

Winners for the Mountaineers were Brandon Crumley (126), Zapp Caldwell (126), Austin McKee (126), Cutter Black (132), Colten McCurdy (138), Lee Norman (138), C.J. Delgadillo (145), Ethan Martin (285) and Emmanuel Jacobo (285).

Morris Innovative did not report results.