November 8, 2011

Varnell crowns champs

Submitted by Varnell Parks and Recreation Department

— The Varnell Parks and Recreation Department recently held the postseason games for it youth football league for ages 5-6. Scores, highlights and outstanding players included:

• Championship — Beaverdale Wildcats (No. 1 North) 6, Westside Rockets (No. 1 South) 0: Beaverdale — Robbie Wiggins, one touchdown; A.J. Hensley, outstanding offensive player; Tanner Headrick, outstanding defensive player. Westside — Matthew Crane, outstanding offensive player; Tyler McCoy, outstanding defensive player.

• New Hope Blue Grizzlies (No. 2 North) 14, Eastbrook Earthquakes (No. 2 South) 7: Eastbrook — Collin Raymond, one touchdown; Anthony Ramirez, one extra point.

• Varnell Colts (No. 3 North) 26, Valley Point Wave (No. 3 South) 0: Varnell — Brock Hix, two touchdowns; Shyne Vinyard, one touchdown and one extra point; Noe Sandoval, one touchdown; Breckin Sirmons, one extra point; Peter Brock, outstanding offensive player; Curtis Cody, outstanding defensive player. Valley Point — Isaih Garcia, outstanding offensive player; Dakota Vickers, outstanding defensive player.

• Tunnel Hill Tuffs (No. 4 South) 14, Cohutta Bulldogs (No. 4 North) 13: Tunnel Hill — Gavin Morgan, one touchdown; Hayden Hampton, one touchdown; Zach Baine, outstanding offensive player; Carson Hendrix, outstanding defensive player. Cohutta — Eion Kenner, two touchdowns; Draven Green, outstanding offensive player; Luke Kinsey, outstanding defensive player.

• New Hope White Grizzlies (No. 5 North) 19, Westside Warriors (No. 5 South) 12: New Hope — Ian Gowin, two touchdowns; Connor Thomas, one touchdown and one extra point; Kyler Patterson, outstanding offensive player; Logan Jones, outstanding defensive player. Westside — Austin Cooley, two touchdowns, outstanding offensive player; Tanner Heartly, outstanding defensive player.