Bracket set for final day at Southeastern - The Daily Citizen: Sports

Bracket set for final day at Southeastern

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Sunday, July 14, 2013 5:00 am | Updated: 2:37 am, Sat Oct 18, 2014.

The Daily Citizen’s Southeastern 7-on-7 Championship is a Dalton-area event, but it brings together high school football teams from near and far.

That’s also a pretty good way to describe the list of pool winners from Saturday’s opening day of action at the third annual event.

Three Georgia teams finished first in their pools, while the other three winners came from outside the Peach State, including two squads from Indiana and another from Kentucky.

Pool A’s Jeffersonville (Ind.) and Pool F’s Bowling Green (Ky.) each went 6-0, while Pool E’s Griffin was the only other team to go undefeated Saturday, finishing 4-0-1 after beating pool play site host Northwest Whitfield on a last-second touchdown. Other winners were 2012 Southeastern champion Cartersville in Pool A and Atlanta’s Pace Academy in Pool D, which each went 5-1, as well as Paoli (Ind.), which went 4-2 in Pool B.

After Saturday’s pool play, teams move on to today’s double-elimination bracket play, with the top four finishers in each pool advancing to the championship bracket and the bottom three finishers in each pool moving to the consolation bracket.

Competition begins at 8:30 a.m., with the finals for each bracket scheduled for 4:30 p.m. The championship final is at the Dalton Parks and Recreation Department’s John Davis Recreation Center at 904 Civic Drive, while the consolation final is at 214 Fredrick St. in Dalton.

In addition to the pool winners, the teams advancing to the championship bracket were: Baylor (Chattanooga), Christian Heritage, Cedar Grove (Ellenwood), Colquitt County, Dalton “A,” East Hall, Faith Academy (Mobile, Ala.), Fletcher (Neptune Beach, Fla.), Florence (Ala.), Jackson (Mo.), Jefferson Davis (Montgomery, Ala.), Lake Cormorant (Miss.), Maplesville (Ala.), North Murray, Northwest Whitfield “A,” Ridgeland “A,” Ridgeland “B” and Scotlandville (Baton Rouge, La.).

The teams moving on to the consolation bracket were: Brainerd (Chattanooga), Brookwood (Thomasville), Cedar Shoals (Athens), Cherokee (N.C.), Coahulla Creek, Dalton “B,” Howard (Chattanooga), Northwest Whitfield “B,” Southeast Whitfield “A,” Southeast Whitfield “B,” Victory Christian (Charlotte, N.C.), West (Knoxville, Tenn.), Villa Rica.



To view or purchase photos, visit