April 29, 2014

Class 4A boys soccer teams get a few days rest

Dalton, Northwest Whitfield and Southeast Whitfield have a few extra days to prepare for the opening round of the Georgia High School Association’s Class 4A boys soccer state tournament.

All three were scheduled to play Tuesday, but the threat of inclement weather caused those matches being rescheduled for Saturday.

Dalton (17-0-1), the No. 1 seed from Region 7-4A, will host Region 5-4A No. 4 seed Sandy Creek at noon. The Catamounts are the defending Class 4A state champions and are unbeaten in their past 40 games.

Southeast (11-5-2), Region 7-4A’s No. 2 seed, hosts Region 5-4A No. 3 seed Columbus at 7 p.m. Northwest (7-7-3), the No. 3 seed from Region 7-4A, travels to play Region 5-4A No. 2 seed Carrollton at 7:30 p.m.

“I feel like we were fine going on,” Bruins coach Ryan Scoggins said, “but we do have three or four guys with some nagging things and had to hold them out of drills. It’ll be nice to have a few extra days to help them recover.

“I do wish we didn’t need to wait all the way until Saturday, but I also understand the GHSA has to worry about six classifications and needs to line up referees for all matches.”

Northwest’s girls play in the first round at 4:30 p.m. today at Columbus State University against host Columbus. The Lady Bruins are in the state playoffs for a second straight season.

The boys teams from Coahulla Creek and North Murray play Thursday to begin the Class 3A bracket — Coahulla hosts Buford at 5:30 p.m. and North Murray hosts North Hall at 6 p.m. The boys sides from Morris Innovative and Murray County — Class 2A schools — also play Thursday in first-round playoff matches.

The Tigers travel to Bremen for a 6 p.m. start, and the Indians host Chattahoochee County for a 5:30 p.m. start.

All three local teams Class 4A  advanced to last year’s state quarterfinals, where Southeast beat Northwest to reach the championship game against Dalton. The Catamounts completed an undefeated season by beating the Raiders 5-0 to win the program’s second state title and first since 2003.

Text Only