November 13, 2012

Smith wins second in a row, North Georgia Speedway year ends

From Staff Reports

— Shane Smith ended the 2012 North Georgia Speedway racing season Saturday with his second straight win in the Econo Hobby division.

Smith edged out Glenn Grimsley and powerhouse Billy Callahan. Callahan won five straight races in the division before Smith won his first on Nov. 3.

Greg Tinker won the Modified Hobby division, with Mark Bishop and Derek Chapman following. Ethan Hunter won the Limited Late Model division ahead of Brian Smith and Jordy Nipper, and Chris Wilson won the Crate Late Model division over Michael Page and Jason Welshan.

This was the final race of the 2012 season at the Chatsworth track, which had a promoter change when Terry Wilson and Keiff Ellis stepped out of the picture for financial reasons and the speedway closed down for several weeks during June and July.

Jason Jones took over as promoter and reopened the track on July 21, holding races almost every weekend since.